How to clean install iOS 7 properly?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Reach9, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. Reach9 macrumors 68020

    Reach9

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    In America
    #1
    Quick question guys, should i Option + click on Update or Restore. To set up my iPhone as brand new with iOS 7 GM, and then sync my songs, apps etc. with iTunes? Currently on 6.1.3.

    Or should i put it in DFU mode first? This thing always confuses me.

    I already downloaded iTunes 11 B2 from the Dev site.
     
  2. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #2
    Restore and set-up as new phone.
     
  3. Reach9 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Reach9

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    In America
    #3
    Thanks, i appreciate the quick response!
     
  4. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    I restored from iCloud backup of the latest beta... no problems :cool:
     
  5. iAd4m macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #5
    What about getting all my app settings and data back? Is it wise to restore from a 6.1.3 backup or will that introduce any unwanted junk in ios7?
     
  6. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    If you already have an ios 7 beta loaded, you can't restore from a 6.13 backup.
     
  7. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Just restore, and load your backup. Then reset all settings after it has completed.
     
  8. Curun macrumors 6502

    Curun

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #8
    Coming from 6.1.3 there is no reason to restore and setup as new.

    Option click update in iTunes. Migration from 6.1.3 to 7 should be well tested.

    Restore and setup as new really only recommended if coming from beta.
     
  9. iMas70 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #9

    Would anything be lost by doing that? I'd run an OTA back-up first. Just like I was buying a new phone.
     
  10. Nolander07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #10
    I just updated from 6.1.4 to GM (didn't restore). All setting, apps, passwords, etc. are just as the were before and everything works fine. That is what the majority of people are going to do when the public release comes out.
     
  11. hasanahmad macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #11
    how did you do this? steps?
     
  12. fullauto macrumors 6502a

    fullauto

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #12
    If running beta 6 and backing up manually to iTunes (PC) - is it correct you won't be able to restore data from a beta 6 backup until iTunes PC 11.1 is released?
     
  13. SanjeevRana macrumors 6502a

    SanjeevRana

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #13
    That is correct if you upgrade to GM now ...

    Best way for you is to do an shift+update to GM build and do no syncing till iTunes comes out
    Or just wait ....
     
  14. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #14
    Agreed. This is GM and next week a bazillion people are going to update from iOS 6 to iOS 7. There is nothing wrong with a restore as long as you have a Mac and iTunes beta 2 but not necessary at this point. The update takes less than 10 minutes and no pesky restore.

    But make sure you have a good backup. ;) A coworker got Error 9 during his update and he had to put 6.1.4 back on his phone and then restore from his iOS 6 backup.
     
  15. bcking81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #15
    How are you guys restoring for a icloud backup. Every time i tried to do that it ask for a password to a apple id that inst mine even though i log in in with my credentials.
     
  16. iMas70 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #16
    I checked my software update when I got home. It says iOS7. Your software is up to date. The last beta that I installed was 6.

    So should I just leave it or do a restore and set up as new?
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    Beta is clearly not the latest. You need to get the actual public release and install that.
     
  18. Mess-I-Ah macrumors member

    Mess-I-Ah

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #18
    How?

    I have the same issue. The GM doesn't come up.
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    You won't get it, betas don't get updates to GM or final. You need to restore in iTunes or download the latest final release and do an alternate update in iTunes.
     

Share This Page