Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jamin00

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2012
Essex, UK.
On my last Windows machine there were simple things like Disc cleanup and options under Internet options and what not to clean up stuff.

Are there any alternatives on the MBP like this or do I get an app to keep all things tidy and smooth running.

jamin00

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2012
Essex, UK.
You don't need to do regular system maintenance unless you're having a problem with your machine. Are you having a problem with your machine?

No, I'm new to MBP as well so I'm still learning it and stuck on Windows ways :)

What the CCleaner app I see then, are these sort of apps just for specific issues?

Thanks

Mal

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2002
Orlando
No, I'm new to MBP as well so I'm still learning it and stuck on Windows ways :)

What the CCleaner app I see then, are these sort of apps just for specific issues?

Thanks

Sort of. They're intended to fix specific types of issues, or they're aimed at users like you that haven't learned not to use them yet. Many of those types of apps can actually cause problems, for a variety of reasons. It's best to avoid any cleaner or maintenance apps and use the boards here for troubleshooting instead.

jW

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
That's common for those coming from Windows. After decades on Windows, it took me a while to realize I didn't have to "fiddle around under the hood" to keep Mac OS X running well.
You don't need "cleaner" or "maintenance" apps to keep your Mac running well, and some of these apps can do more harm than good. Some remove files/folders or unused languages or architectures, which does nothing more than free up some drive space, with the risk of deleting something important in the process.