how to clear cache without clearing passwords in yosemite??

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by blondee028, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. blondee028 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    Can someone please tell me how to do this? I don't want to remove my passwords.. I am running yosemite 10.10.3
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Are you referring to your account password? If not that then which password?
     
  3. blondee028 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    Taz

    All passwords that are kept on the computer which are stored in cookies
     
  4. Wheelie4, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2015

    Wheelie4 macrumors regular

    Wheelie4

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #4
    If you're referring to Safari browser cache, you can open up Safari preferences, go to the advanced tab down at the bottom and enable "show develop in menu bar". Then just click the "Develop" menu and then click "Empty cache".

    Another option I've done in the past go to the library folder in my user account, opened the cache folder and deleted the "com.apple.Safari" folder.
     
  5. blondee028 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #5
    Wheelie4

    Your talking to a senior citizen..So if I do what your saying I won't lose my passwords that are stored in my computer? Last time I hit clear history and cookies I lost everything what a mess that was.

    ----------

    I have no idea how to get to the library or folder
     
  6. Wheelie4 macrumors regular

    Wheelie4

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    NC, USA
    #6
    If you take the steps I told you about the "develop" menu you will not lose your passwords. You won't even lose them in the second step I described. But the first step is the one I suggest for you. And just so you know I'm 53 myself. :)

    Just make sure you DO NOT use the "clear history and website data" that is in the "Safari" menu.
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Is there anything wrong then for you to want / need to clear caches? What are the issues you have?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page