How to clone a boot drive on a RAID0

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gugucom, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #1
    I'm planning to replace my boot hard drive with a pair of RAID0ed SSDs. In order to familiarize myself with certain techniques I have build a software RAID0 from two 160 GB Maxtor SATA I hard disks. That went pretty much without problems. The two HDs are now sitting in position 1 and 2 in my Mac Pro.

    The problem arises when I try to clone my boot drive onto the new RAID 0 drive. I was using disk utility and got an error message. Then I thought my fault was using disk utility from the HD which I wanted to clone and booted from the Leopard install disk. I then used disdk utility from that source to clone the HD boot drive to the RAID. Again I got the error.

    What is going wrong? Do I have to approach this completely different?
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    What about using Carbon Copy Cloner?
    It makes one on one copies of the selected hard drive.

    This is what I do when replacing boot drives in my Macs.
    Works just fine.

    BTW: Wie klein die Welt doch ist...
     
  3. gugucom thread starter macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #3
    I havn't used CCC so far. Would that work from the boot drive for cloning the boot drive at the same time to the RAID?

    PS.: Wo wohnst Du?
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Just clone the current boot drive to your Raid Array and make a reboot.
    When everything went right you will be asked from which drive you'd like to boot.
    Choose the Raid and afterwards you can reformat the previous boot disk to use it as storage or whatever.

    Ich wohne derzeit nicht in Deutschland, aber man kennt sich aus dem roten Apfel Forum.
     
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Step by step:

    1. Construct a software RAID-0 for the two SSDs using Disk Utility. Format the RAID-0 array as Mac OS X Extended (Journaled). I recommend naming the volume Macintosh HD so you don't run into any application referencing issues.

    2. Use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the boot drive to the new RAID-0 array. Make sure you tell it to make a bootable backup and uncheck the "Ignore Disk Permissions" box.

    3. When the clone is complete, go into System Preferences and into the Startup Disk pane. Choose the new Macintosh HD volume (should be bigger than the older one). Click the Restart button.

    You should now be booting Mac OS X from your RAID-0 volume. When booting is completed, you can now reformat the stock drive to use as a data backup drive, if you like.

    The above steps worked for me with no problems.
     
  6. gugucom thread starter macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #6
    I seem to have corrupted my boot system somehow. It will not clone. CCC hangs up on a file named .Trashes/501/Hally - My home away -.mp3

    I have tried to find this mp3 file in order to delete it and I cleaned out the trash bin but nothing helps. It looks like I have to start the system from scratch. Dang.:mad:
     
  7. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #7
    Sorry, can´t help so far, BUT:

    Hey gugucom!

    Nur ein kurzes Servus aus der Oberpfalz. Werde wahrscheinlich die nächsten Tage mit dem gleichen Problem kämpfen. Allerdings nicht mit SSDs sondern einem RAID0 mit 3x 3,5" HDDs.
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Empty your trash can?

    Use advanced search and find that file and delete it?

    Look at .Trashes in Bash?

    Kick it twice and spit on it?
     
  9. wpc33 macrumors 6502

    wpc33

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    Delete something else, and use secure empty trash?
    Use something like Pathfinder to view invisible files and find the offending file?
     

Share This Page