How to completely stop people using airport?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sambo110, Apr 26, 2009.

  1. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Well, we have already used 400 megs today and no one has downloaded anything, just my mum has browsed the web a bit, maybe 5 megs or less we should have used, and my mum said it was going slow this morning, like someone was downloading. I am starting to think some ass hole really is using our internet, but I have no way to check. It doesn't show on the modem as they aren't accessing through the modem, it is through airport. I put a password on airport but my iPod didn't ask for it so obviously they would still be able to get on. Is there any way I can stop people from accessing it?
     
  2. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Except I use it for my iPod and my sister uses it for her Macbook. And I put a WPA2 password, yet neither the Macbook or iPod ask for a password when I connect.
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  4. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
  5. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    How do I check a log? And I said I set a WPA2 password but that does nothing. It is the airport card in the iMac.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    How do you connect to the internet? What is the modem plugged into?
     
  7. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Umm. I use a wired modem, it is connected to the iMac and PS3, and we have a cable for my sisters Macbook, but it is just long enough to reach the desk in her room, and she likes to be on her bed and sometimes in the loungeroom etc. So 3 cords, but only 1 is always in use, sometimes 2 if I am on the PS3.
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  9. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    But then my sister can't use it, and she is always on her Macbook.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Then it really sounds like someone is not telling the truth about their use.
     
  11. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Trust me, all she does is MSN and Myspace, I can always look out of the office and see her Macbook screen. And I don't think she was using it this morning.

    EDIT: She has been to 8 pages today, so definitely not much.
     
  12. iknowyourider macrumors 6502a

    iknowyourider

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    onanorthboundtrain
    #13
    sambo, be patient. Surely someone here knows how to help you with a password. They'll show up soon (fingers crossed, hopefully). Can you call apple and get tech support? Google or MRoogle - "how to secure airport extreme" or something. Good Luck.
     
  13. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #14
    Set up MAC Address Filtering in the Airport Utility. It will limit which computers can access the network. It's in the manual, or download the pdf manual from Apple's support site
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    So do you actually have an Airport router, or is it shared through the iMac?
     
  15. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    Well, I found out what it was. For some reason in my mums account it downloaded half of a 1.1 gig garage band update which sucks. I have still thought someone might be accessing our airport for a while though, as sometimes we use more than I think we should have. Next door has wireless so maybe they are accidently accessing our sometimes? I'll try what spacepower7 said anyway, just to make sure no one will access it.
     

Share This Page