How to Connect Airport Express to Denon

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by MacMonkey13, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. MacMonkey13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois
    #1
    I'm slightly confused. I know I should be able to get airplay by purchasing the airport express stereo connection kit and then connecting my AE to my Denon receiver AVR 3802. Where I'm losing it is where on the Denon do I connect the cables to play off my speakers?
     
  2. QuarterSwede, Dec 10, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011

    QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    You have two options:

    1) Use a mini toslink to toslink optical cable to connect to one of the optical ins on the Denon (OPT.-1, OPT.-2 or OPT.-3). Optical (Digital) will give you the best possible audio.

    2) Use a 3.5mm minijack to RCA connector to connect to one of the RCA ins on the Denon (DVD, VDP, TV/DBS, VCR-1, VCR-2/V.AUX, CDR/TAPE, CD, or PHONO).

    [​IMG]
     
  3. MacMonkey13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois
    #3
    Wow! Thanks Swede! The diagram is sweet. So can I use the Apple Stereo Connection Kit on one of the options?
     
  4. QuarterSwede, Dec 10, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011

    QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    Yes, Option 2. However, it's an overpriced 3.5mm to RCA adapter. Just buy the one from monoprice.com for $0.65 and save yourself $38. You will notice absolutely no difference.

    Or better yet, get the mini toslink to toslink optical cable for $2.41 and get great sound.

    Monoprice's shipping is cheap and fast and their cables are excellent quality. You just don't get any fancy packaging as they come in a plastic bag.
     
  5. MacMonkey13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois
    #5
    Thanks again.

    Just ordered the toslink optical cable. I really appreciate the help.
     
  6. MacMonkey13 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois
    #7
    OK so I got the TosLink Optical cable and connected it to my Airport Express and Opt-3 Input. However, since I lost my manual I don't know what to set the receiver on to play the audio. Any ideas?
     
  7. Uofmtiger macrumors 68000

    Uofmtiger

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Memphis
    #8
    Usually, Denon has their manuals online. Otherwise, look at Batpig's website and it probably has what you need.

    I have a 3808ci which might be similar. You have to go into the onscreen menu and assign optical 3 to one of the devices they have listed. Then just tune your Denon to that device. The 3808 also has the ability to change the name of the input to whatever you want to make it easy to find later.
     
  8. Beulah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #9
    Denon 3808

    I have a denon 3808 I also want to be able to stream itunes to. Do I do the same here? That is, connect an express?
     
  9. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #10
    You could also do it through an AppleTV if your receiver has the toslink input. It would give you a lot more flexibility/entertainment options for similar price if you don't need the router features of the AE.
     
  10. Beulah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #11
    denon 3808

    I have the apple tv connected to a sharp aquos (HDMI) which streams well. I tried to connect the apple tv with an optical audio to the denon 3808 so that I could also play itunes through the denon. I connected the optical port from the apple tv to the optical port 3 on the denon. But I couldn't get any audio from the denon, just the aquos.

    So I disconnected the HDMI from the aquos and plugged it into the denon HDMI 2 and it both streamed and played the audio. However the streaming wasn't as good when i had it directly connected to the aquos.

    Is there any reason the optical 3 port wouldn't work for audio when i have the HDMI port from the apple tv connected directly to the aquos? Any suggestions as how i can do both?
     

Share This Page