How to connect an Airport Extream to a non mac router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Massnegro, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. Massnegro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #1
    Hi all, and sorry if this is a repeat of an old question I'm sure the answer is here already here on the forum, (if you can point me in the right direction that would help) but I can't seem to find a solution that works or I that’s idiot proof...

    So, and as I said I need an idiots guide to this... Just how do I connect a G4 to an Airport Extreme Base station via LAN cable, and then get it to connect to an existing wireless network (that’s using a non Mac router).

    It's just that the existing airport card is painfully slow with a NAS and as I had the AE kicking about I thought I'd use that rather than buying a new PCI AE card.

    Regards

    Andy
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    *non-APPLE router*

    You mean...bridge the connection and then share it via ethernet?
     
  3. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #3
    You want to connect the computer via ethernet (cable) AND wirelessly? (highlights above are mine) As in join TWO seperate networks?

    I think you can only do one or the other. I could be wrong though.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Possible. This is my set up.

    Vzzzz Router --wire-- airport extreme
    --wireless n 5ghz-- airport express --wire-- gigabit switch--other stuff
     
  5. Massnegro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #5
    Sorry all I think I've confused the issues here, all I want to do is use the airport extreme as a Wireless access point; connected to my existing network provided on a Linksys router.


    Andy
     
  6. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    You absolutely can plug in your AEBS to the router and create a new network. :)
     

Share This Page