[How to] control your mac using win RDP client (XRDP compiling guide on OSx)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by coozoo, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. coozoo, Aug 31, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014

    coozoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #1
    Sorry if it's wrong place to share that.

    Introduction

    Next guide will describe how to compile xrdp on your mac.

    [​IMG]

    Why I need it because it's much more easy to manage mac computer from windows computer. You don't need to search vnc client you can simply use windows built-in rdp client. (and as for me during connection with VNC client to mac default VNC server aka ARD I have hanging of login screen very often, using XRDP possibility to see hanged vnc login screen reduced, why? i don't know...)

    If you want just install it you can download Installer OSxXRDP.zip and simply install it. Installation will be done automatically (below i will describe how installer works).

    Download OSxXRDP installer

    But if you paranoiac and afraid of some code injections please follow by steps and compile it by yourself :)

    Caution:
    I'm really big mac hater (it's not related to Big'MC :) ) I don't like OS x and I'm pretty sure that OS x it's bad, old and outdated copy of Linux (it's mine IMHO so just keep in mind when you are reading that)

    Preparation

    I wouldn't describe how install x Code or command line tools you can find it over Internet or ask apple how to do that.

    First step simply create folder for our project
    Let's do that in the root of user folder.
    Code:
    $ mkdir ~/xrdp
    Second step we need additional libraries to compile XRDP.
    Code:
    autoconf
    automake
    gettext
    libtool
    tree
    And my suggestion is to install wget (good linux tool to download files).
    Download this file:
    Download wget installer
    Extract it (double click on file) and install pkg file.

    Using wget you can simply download files from command line for example previous file can be downloaded with such command:
    Code:
    $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOWmhDOUdfNlhBdzg" -O wget-1.14_5.pkg.zip
    But if you don't have it yet use safari to download, if you have it you don't need it (I mean it's just example).

    There is a few ways to install libs:
    1. You can download installers for them using links (I've made them using macports)

      Create folder to download them:
      Code:
      $ mkdir ~/xrdp/deps 
      Download each installer into this folder:
      autoconf:
      Code:
      $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOTG92alFFNkFaVGM" -O ~/xrdp/deps/autoconf-1_2.69_2.pkg.zip
      automake:
      Code:
      $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOZmQyTG1HbXFCQXM" -O ~/xrdp/deps/automake-1.14.dmg.zip
      gettext:
      Code:
      $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOZHpGam15UVBaUW8" -O ~/xrdp/deps/gettext-0.18.3.1_1.pkg.zip
      libtool:
      Code:
      $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOby1MQVk4ZWpGb1k" -O ~/xrdp/deps/libtool-2.4.2_3.pkg.zip
      tree:
      Code:
      $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOXzVyUl9hNV93cTg" -O ~/xrdp/deps/tree-1.6.0.dmg.zip
      If you still want to use safari follow by this link and download each file:
      Libs Installers

      Extract each installer and install every sure you need root privileges for that.

      If it doesn't work (then sorry sometimes it's happened) or again if you are paranoiac you can skip this steps and go to the 2nd or 3rd :)
    2. It was my way.
      You need install macports as described here: https://www.macports.org/install.php
      When you have configured macports.

      Invoke installation by typing in console:
      Code:
      $ sudo port install autoconf
      $ sudo port install automake
      $ sudo port install gettext
      $ sudo port install libtool
      $ sudo port install tree
      Sit back and relax.
    3. Another way. It' using another repository such like homebrew.
      http://brew.sh/

      Brew doesn't need root so it's for you if afraid root a lot :)
      Code:
      $ brew install autoconf
      $ brew install automake
      $ brew install libtool
      $ brew install gettext
      I've didn't tried this way but I think it should work.
      Because there is a man who tried this:
      http://stackoverflow.com/questions/...xrdp-working-on-osx-lion-has-anyone-done-this
    4. You can try another repo similar to macports or brew. Or you can try install libs from sources feel free :)

    Third step Actually it's XRDP downloading.

    Using wget just copy-paste this into shell (or you can use safari):
    Code:
    $ wget "http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/xrdp/xrdp/0.6.0/xrdp-v0.6.0.tar.gz?r=http%3A%2F%2Fsourceforge.net%2Fprojects%2Fxrdp%2Ffiles%2F&ts=1359787244&use_mirror=iweb" -O ~/xrdp/xrdp-v0.6.0.tar.gz
    Now extract sources:
    Code:
    $ cd ~/xrdp
    $ tar xvzf "xrdp-v0.6.0.tar.gz"
    $ cd ~/xrdp/xrdp-v0.6.0
    Patching

    Now you need to apply patch. Really it can be compiled without this patch but.

    Underlying story:
    XRDP uses Unix standards to read environments. As I've told you mac it's just cripple Linux sometimes this function available sometimes not. It can be included into libSystem.B.dylib. It doesn't depend on version of mac os even when libs have the same version on one mac it's supported another no. I have suspicious that it's depends on version of x code, it seems mac devs unsucceeded to remove it from each tool and perform solution to make _environ function available but sometimes this function available even when x code wasn't installed maybe some another apple app can modify it too...

    So you need to apply small patch to use native OS x calls into this os_calls.c file:
    Code:
    --- ../xrdp-v0.6.0/common/os_calls.c 2012-02-21 11:00:55.000000000 -0800
    +++ ../xrdp-environ/common/os_calls.c 2014-08-17 23:54:53.000000000 -0700
    @@ -67,6 +67,9 @@
    
    /* for clearenv() */
    #if defined(_WIN32)
    +#elif __APPLE__
    +#include <crt_externs.h>
    +#define environ *_NSGetEnviron();
    #else
    extern char** environ;
    #endif
    @@ -2113,7 +2116,7 @@
    void APP_CC
    g_clearenv(void)
    {
    -#if defined(_WIN32)
    +#if defined(_WIN32) || defined(__APPLE__)
    #else
    environ = 0;
    #endif
    
    You can download this patch by link:
    Code:
    $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOb09qMWwxQ2QycG8" -O ~/xrdp/os_calls.c.patch
    And actually the command to apply this patch:
    Code:
    $ patch ~/xrdp/xrdp-v0.6.0/common/os_calls.c < ~/xrdp/os_calls.c.patch
    Configuring and compilation

    Run next:
    Code:
    $ ./bootstrap
    Now we need to configure it properly:
    Set defaults directories, set it as 32bit as I know there is some mac PCs with 32 bit os (yes PC because now mac it's IBM PC architecture) and target min version of OS x.
    So in this case I think this binaries will run without problems when you want to transfer it to another mac.
    Code:
    $ ./configure -prefix=/usr -sysconfdir=/etc -localstatedir=/var CFLAGS="-m32 -mmacosx-version-min=10.6"
    After successful configuration run:
    Code:
    $ make
    And finally to put binaries and all content into appropriate directories as root:
    Code:
    $ sudo make install
    Configuring XRDP
    You think that's all? Don't be so naive it's just begging...

    xrdp.ini
    So now we need to reconfigure XRDP with values for mac because it's configured as Linux tool.
    Run next to change name of libs inside configuration:
    Code:
    $ cp /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini.bak
    $ sudo sed -i 's/.so/.dylib/' /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini
    After that edit this file and change max_bpp to 16 bit color because in some reason when you are trying to use 24 after connecting to mac vnc you will receive grey messed and very creepy screen (it's happened only when you using mstsc when you connecting from Linux everything fine). So to chnge it just run this:
    Code:
    $ sudo sed -i 's/max_bpp=24/max_bpp=16/' /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini
    Or you can download already modified xrdp.ini file and replace your own:
    Code:
    $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOTXFQeG9lRHRleEk" -O ~/xrdp/xrdp.ini
    $ sudo cp /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini.bak
    $ sudo cp ~/xrdp/xrdp.ini /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini
    $ sudo chmod 666 /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini
    xrdp.sh
    In some reason original xrdp.sh doesn't work correctly on mac (i don't remember what the reason). So you can try to fix it. Or simply download and replace. To do that run next commands:
    Code:
    $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOek5sOHZGNTRKQVk" -O ~/xrdp/xrdp.sh
    $ sudo cp /etc/xrdp/xrdp.sh /etc/xrdp/xrdp.sh.bak
    $ sudo cp ~/xrdp/xrdp.sh /etc/xrdp/xrdp.sh
    $ sudo chmod 777 /etc/xrdp/xrdp.sh
    rsakeys.ini
    Please check now if rsakeys.ini exists:
    Code:
    $ sudo ls /etc/xrdp/rsakeys.ini
    If you see as output the name of file so you don't need to perform next command.
    If answer that there is no such file so you need to run this:
    Code:
    $ sudo xrdp-keygen xrdp /etc/xrdp/rsakeys.ini
    $ sudo chmod 666 /etc/xrdp/rsakeys.ini
    So from here we are done to launch XRDP manually.
    You can try:
    Code:
    $ sudo /etc/xrdp/xrdp.sh
    And check result with:
    Code:
    $ ps -A|grep xrdp|grep -v grep
      850 ?        00:00:00 xrdp-sesman
      851 ?        00:00:00 xrdp
    
    You will see two process as an answer: xrdp, xrdp-sesman. If no you need to find what's wrong....

    XRDP OS x daemon
    Sure it's evidentially stupid idea to start xrdp every time manually.
    So we need to create OS x daemon... It's really bad, pure documented system. But I've did that.
    Download this description xml file:
    Code:
    $ wget "http://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BxdJaRbJyqkOdXppLVFLMGRsZFE" -O ~/xrdp/my.xrdp.plist
    $ sudo cp ~/xrdp/my.xrdp.plist /Library/LaunchDaemons/my.xrdp.plist
    $ sudo chmod 644 /Library/LaunchDaemons/my.xrdp.plist
    $ sudo launchctl load -F /Library/LaunchDaemons/my.xrdp.plist
    $ sudo launchctl start my.xrdp
    Enable VNC aka ARD
    And now don't forget to start VNC to which your XRDP instance will be connected.
    You can do that using GUI settings of mac.
    Or simply run this to activate access with the password 12345678 (you can change it):
    Code:
    $ /System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/Resources/kickstart -activate -configure -access -on -clientopts -setvnclegacy -vnclegacy yes -clientopts -setvncpw -vncpw 12345678 -restart -agent -privs -all
    So VNC will be enabled at port 5900 (you can try some custom vnc to change it if you want).

    Installer
    Installer assembled using packagemaker app from apple.
    As I've mentioned above you can download it from here:
    Download OSxXRDP installer
    It contains few scripts and two packages.
    1. First script will run before start to check your current language if it's Russian language simply exit. You will pass it without problems it's only for Russians why because they're invaders and they support their government in this actions. (Sure it's simply to skip but at least maybe they will think why I did that...)
      [​IMG]
    2. Just go through the dialogs (maybe you'll be asked about choose drive... due to some apple bug sometimes it can ask sometimes no)
    3. By default two packages available and marked: one for binaries another one for daemon. So normally you need both.
      [​IMG]
    4. After finish you will see such screen and you can try to check if services where started.
      [​IMG]

    That's all now you can launch you RDP client and connect to mac by IP :)
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gabriel3052 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    hi coozoo,

    excellent post and nice tool you submitted. Installed it on my virtualized mac, however I get the following error after connection with rdp is sucessful and the dialog "Login to rdp" with only drop-down "Module" appeared (without any username/password) fields:

    "..error loading /usr/lib/xrdp/libvnc.dylib specified in xrdp.ini, pleas.... (rest of the message is truncated).."

    Thanks for your help in advance!

    Gabriel
     
  3. coozoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #3
    Hi Gabriel,
    Thanks for trying it, nice catch you found a bug :)

    Shame on me :) my fault i've missed symlinks

    you can redownload and reinstall it.
    Or simply run this to create symlinks:
    Code:
    $ sudo cd /usr/lib/xrdp/;for f in *.dylib; do sudo ln -s "$f" "$(echo "$f"|awk -F "." '{print $1'}).dylib";done;
    thanks.
     
  4. easyw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #4
    xrdp osx screen size

    hi coozoo,
    thank you for the guide! I managed to use xrdp on my mac! :)
    now I can rdp my mac through xrdp (I'm using lion) ...
    I have a prob... when I remote the mac from a pc I have a smaller resolution (eg pc 1600x900, mac 1920x1080) and the rdp window became larger then the pc screen...
    is there a way to set a different resolution for the vnc session?
    thank you
    maurice
     
  5. Beachguy macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    Darwin, the system on which Apple's Mac OS X is built, is a derivative of 4.4BSD-Lite2 and FreeBSD, and is in no way a copy of Linux. Actually, it would be more accurate to say Linux is the copy. (Not really accurate, but much closer to truth, and not INaccurate, either.)
     
  6. coozoo, Dec 13, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2014

    coozoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #6
    Hi Maurice,
    it's unbelievable but I have exactly the same problem :)

    And i have few solutions for that:

    1. Change display scaling on mac
    I don't remember (and i can't check because it's weekend), but i think it changes the real display appearance too.
    So if someone or you are using this mac not only by remote it's not good idea and better to use second way.
    - go to Apple menu -> System Preferences -> Display
    - Set scaled radiobox
    - and select one of available resolutions
    [​IMG]
    For me i have 1366x768 not sure that this will be the same on every mac (for example on macbook if i'm not wrong only one available)
    And another problem that you are on fixed resolutions... it's possible that some apps not able to fit into screen:)
    But there is one plus in using this method - screen is updated much more faster due to less resolution :)

    2. It's hidden feature of microsoft client :)
    But you can use it only for saved connections.
    - To save connection you need to open mstsc, at least you need to set IP, click Options -> Save as
    - find saved file .rdp and open it by notepad
    - and add just one line any where (without quotes):
    "smart sizing:i:1"
    save and close notepad
    Now connect using created .rdp file and mstsc client will resize content accordingly to your window size :)
    [​IMG]

    enjoy,
    yura :)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. easyw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #7
    xrdp keyboard

    Hi yura!
    the display scaling (opt 1) worked perfectly!!! :)
    (I'm using freerdp on linux so I had only this option...)

    the only issue that now remains to me is the keyboard...
    I have some keys (e.g. Altgr @) that do not correspond on the xrdp screen...
    I would like to load a keymap on the remote server to match the local keyboard map...
    thank you again for your suggestions!!!
    Maurice
     
  8. coozoo, Dec 14, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014

    coozoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #8
    Hi Maurice
    Hm I'm not using key combination :) that's why i didn't saw that :)
    But really Alt doesn't work... (yesterday eve I've seat little bit)
    Code:
    $ xmodmap -pk
    returns me Alt keycodes on my linux
    Code:
    $ xmodmap -pk|grep -i alt
         64         0xffe9 (Alt_L)  0xffe7 (Meta_L) 0xffe9 (Alt_L)  0xffe7 (Meta_L) 0xffe9 (Alt_L)  0xffe7 (Meta_L)
        108         0xffea (Alt_R)  0xffe8 (Meta_R) 0xffea (Alt_R)  0xffe8 (Meta_R) 0xfe03 (ISO_Level3_Shift)
        204         0x0000 (NoSymbol)       0xffe9 (Alt_L)  0x0000 (NoSymbol)       0xffe9 (Alt_L)  0x0000 (NoSymbol)       0xffe9 (Alt_L)
    
    On mac Alt is not present by this command...
    but it exists in events header with different name as Option key
    Code:
    $ cat /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/HIToolbox.framework/Versions/A/Headers/Events.h|grep -i option
      optionKeyBit                  = 11,   /* option key down?*/
      rightOptionKeyBit             = 14,   /* right Option key down? Not supported on Mac OS X.*/
      optionKey                     = 1 << optionKeyBit,
      rightOptionKey                = 1 << rightOptionKeyBit, /* Not supported on Mac OS X.*/
      kOptionUnicode                = 0x2325, /* Unicode OPTION KEY*/
      kVK_Option                    = 0x3A,
      kVK_RightOption               = 0x3D,
    
    that's really weird...
    And as I've understood problem lies somewhere in the mac VNC port aka ARD...
    Even when you use direct connection with VNC, it doesn't work...
    So I think OSx ARD suxx, but i know that before :)

    BTW under Linux it's not a problem to use VNC directly if you wish :) i'm using remmina and it have button to scale screen :)

    But what is annoying for me it's copy/paste.
    I've tried to compile vnc by myself, to transfer buffer and currently no luck. But during experiments I've found that real vnc is works much more better and copy/paste works between machines, even when you use direct vnc connection or xrdp+realvnc.
    But real VNC is free only for personal use that's why I didn't include it in installer :)

    So you can download your own copy of realvnc (http://www.realvnc.com/) and use it. If you still want to use it with xrdp you need to change port in /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini

    At least Alt key works in real vnc and clipboard it is a big cookies :)

    have fun
    yura
     
  9. coozoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #9
    Oh looks like I know the name of alt key in xmodmap on mac by it's code from linux ) I think name Mode_switch

    Code:
    $ xmodmap -pk|grep ff7e
         66         0xff7e (Mode_switch)    0x0000 (NoSymbol)       0xff7e (Mode_switch)
         69         0xff7e (Mode_switch)    0x0000 (NoSymbol)       0xff7e (Mode_switch)
    
    I will check later if it's possible to remap :) (not sure that it will work because as I wrote it doesn't work even when connect using vnc)
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Not to sound like a jerk, since you put so much work into the guide, but why not use TeamViewer or GotoMyPC or Logmein for remote access.

    I use GotoMyPC, and its quite simple to set up and use.
     
  11. coozoo, Dec 15, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014

    coozoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #11
    Sorry maybe you don't know teamviewer it's vnc reimplemintation oriented to use over internet (it's possible to use in LAN network but protocol still will be vnc).

    "GotoMyPC or Logmein" - :facepalm:

    My target was to control PC over LAN using microsoft RDP client (mstsc).

    Explanation: VNC and RDP is totally different protocols. When you have few macs and bunch of persons who need to use it and they don't have access to vnc, partially due to company restrictions, but they still working with windows they have mstsc, additionally you need to show all of them what is VNC and how to use it, it's better to set up mac to allow connections over RDP protocol.

    Yes to much work so that's why I've did installer file for me and share it here.
     
  12. w00tguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    #12
    Thanks!

    This is great! Now I can use RDP to manage all of my headless servers (linux + mac + windows).

    My only complaint is that RDP can't change the resolution automatically. "smart sizing:i:1" is a good work-around for that, though.
     
  13. easyw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #13
  14. buyukbang, Apr 12, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015

    buyukbang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #14
    Hello coozoo,

    Thanks for the great work you did here! This is really a great post. I feel we have the exactly same viewpoint for OSX, so using XRDP will help me and my colleagues. Alternative third party RDP server applications for OS X are way expensive and XRDP is the only free solution for this need AFAIK.

    I installed your bundled app and it works like a charm. Only problems are clipboard/file copy paste and some Alt Gr key. I believe an account based folder share could be a workaround for clipboard/file copy paste problem. So I'm here to find a solution for keyboard mapping, that you and easyw already discussed above.

    At the moment I can't use Alt or Alt Gr keys with XRDP. Alt Gr is also missing on ARD itself, but Alt key does all of its functions. As below link states, Alt key of PC keyboard should be mapped as Option key on OS X. This is what we see on ARD. On XRDP Alt key behaves like Windows key and is mapped to Command key.

    Do you have a suggestion for mapping Alt key to Option key, as it should be.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/970299
     
  15. easyw, Apr 16, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015

    easyw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    #15
    [How to] control your mac using win RDP client (XRDP compiling guide on OSx)

    Hi yura and buyukbang,
    I managed to map almost all the keycodes through ukulele (open source sw)
    http://scripts.sil.org/cms/scripts/page.php?site_id=nrsi&id=ukelele
    with xrdp and ukulele you can map:
    basic key layout
    shift key layout
    shift + left alt layout (it is mapped as shift+option)
    equal to shift + right alt layout (it is mapped as shift+option)
    so I have 3 key-codes maps to add all the keys I need

    It is strange that left Alt or right Alt are mapped to Command and shift+leftAlt and shift+rightAlt are mapped to shift+option...
    may be yura could discover the trick!
    :)
    Maurice
     
  16. Bllacky, May 12, 2015
    Last edited: May 21, 2015

    Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #16
    Impossible

    No matter how hard I tried to compile xrdp (version 0.9) ... I get this error:

    Code:
    checking X11/Xlib.h presence... no
    checking for X11/Xlib.h... no
    configure: error: please install libx11-dev or libX11-devel
    $
    I have tried:

    Code:
    ./configure -prefix=/usr -sysconfdir=/etc -localstatedir=/var CFLAGS="-mmacosx-version-min=10.9" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/X11/include/"
    doesn't work... I am out of ideas.

    I also get this in the config.log
    Code:
    AR='ar'
    AUTOCONF='${SHELL} /Users/User/Downloads/XRDP/xrdp-devel/missing autoconf'
    AUTOHEADER='${SHELL} /Users/User/Downloads/XRDP/xrdp-devel/missing autoheader'
    AUTOMAKE='${SHELL} /Users/User/Downloads/XRDP/xrdp-devel/missing automake-1.15'
    edit: fixed with: $sudo ln -s /opt/X11/include/X11 /usr/local/include/X11
     
  17. Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #17
    Finally

    After a long struggle I got the thing to compile version 0.8 .
    But I can't login, I get this:
    Code:
    23/05/15 01:37:37,061 XRDP-sesman[171]: in openpam_read_chain(): /etc/pam.d/xrdp-sesman(2): invalid facility '@include' (ignored)
    23/05/15 01:43:08,860 Finder[251]: Metadata.framework [Error]: void _MDItemMarkAsUsedForPath(CFStringRef): was called with a NULL path
    23/05/15 01:43:09,107 Console[401]: Metadata.framework [Error]: void _MDItemMarkAsUsedForPath(CFStringRef): was called with a NULL path
    
    Any ideas are welcomed!
     
  18. Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #18
    If anyone still cares about this project, I am still trying to get a working version of it for future updates of XRDP.
    For now I have moved to github as it seems this thread is dead.

    https://github.com/neutrinolabs/xrdp/issues/243
     
  19. gbit86, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015

    gbit86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #19
    This is really great. I had been waiting for someone to figure out how to get xrdp to compile for OSX. There's such a lack of interest I began to wonder if a free RDP solution would ever arrive.

    Thanks coozoo!

    Having said that though the Alt key mismap issue is a big problem for me, but I tried a lot of various things to resolve it & finally have. It's simpler than you can imagine.

    Sudo nano /etc/xrdp/km-0409.ini

    Edit these two keys
    Key64=65515:0
    Key115=65512:0

    Key64 will set the Windows key to be Alt
    Key115 will set the Alt key to act as command.

    If you do not like that then flip the values/keys, but as far as matching the feel of an actual OSX keyboard it will do that.

    Also Realvnc is interesting, but it lacks multiuser or virtual mode support as Realvnc calls it. It's useless to me lacking that because I need to remote in without disturbing the console user session. For pure speed though Realvnc is a little better, but artifacts from high compression are very apparent.
     
  20. gbit86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #20
    I am curious are there any particular features or performance increases to be gained with 0.8 or 0.9? I don't even really see those versions being as widely used or popular as 0.6 when I do a google search??
     
  21. Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #21
    I have 0.8 on Linux and works absolutely brilliantly, on 0.6 I have some lag. So yes, I am doing this for performance issues and in order to have a universal guide for compiling xrdp on OS X.
     
  22. ckhalilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #22
    Hi,

    Thank you for this great work.

    I would like to use device connected (ipad) to PC in remote desktop session in MAC like Windows do.

    Is that possible?

    Best Regards
    Khalil
     
  23. Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #23
    If you want to do a remote desktop connection from iPAD to Windows PC that is something completely different from what we are trying to achieve here. Here we are trying to connect from Windows PC to OS X (Mac).
     
  24. Bllacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #24
    I got the latest version of xrdp to work on OS X. You can check github for more info.
    Thank you!
     
  25. ckhalilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #25
    Thank you for your response.

    The idea is to remote debugging from IPAD Safari in MAC safari.

    It work fine if I connect Ipad to MAC.

    See link below
    http://moduscreate.com/enable-remote-web-inspector-in-ios-6/

    I need to remote debbing Ipad from PC so I need to know if that possible and if anyone already try this.

    Thank you again.
     

Share This Page