How to convert QT .Mov for FCP x

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by mashinhead, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    Final cut pro x will not open my .mov files from QT, how do I convert these and what do I use without buying software, but using shareware?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    What are the formats of the audio and video tracks?
     
  3. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
  4. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    MPEG Streamclip can transcode your files, but there must be something wrong with your files. FCP X normally opens them without hiccup.
    Are they coming directly from a camera? Then you'd have to follow the import procedures.
     
  5. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #5
    Nope not from a camera. How do I transcode via Streamclip, what are the settings i need and what format to I transcode to?
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    There is no reason for this not to work. The h.264/AAC combination is the default video/audio track format for QuickTime video.
     
  7. jegi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    How old are these .mov files? Not that it should matter.
     
  8. careypo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #8
    Can you open the files in the Quicktime player? If so, there's probably something broken with Final Cut Pro X. I would check with Apple, as there is something seriously wrong.
     
  9. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #9
    Yea QT opens them fine. They were opened and saved in QT7 I don't know if that makes a difference. Also the files are recent to answer the other question.
     
  10. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #10
    Did you download the codecs after you installed FCP X?
     
  11. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #11
    um i don't know its a work cpu so i didn't install it. what codecs do i need?
     
  12. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #12
    FCP X comes without codecs out of the box. They are a separate download. Check your Software Update.
     
  13. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #13
    Even if machine wasnt updated it should have imported the file.
    Perm issues maybe?
     
  14. nqand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #14
    Trouble w/ Audio importing .mov to FCP 7

    Hello everyone. First, let me start off by say that I'm an idiot when it comes to this kind of software. With that out of the way... I'm trying to import video & audio from Skype that I have recorded using "Call Recorder."

    The render bar is lighted when I drag it into FCP & the audio only beeps. When I try to render it, I get the "General Error" message. Can anyone PLEASE, PLEASE tell me what I'm doing incorrectly? I would greatly appreciate it!
     
  15. daybreak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #15
    Firstly there are no idiots on this forum. We all have issues understanding the world of computers and specially editing software.
    No i would not know what format you need. But Skype and FCP7 are not on the same wavelength.
    What i suggest try bringing it in into iMOVIE and see if you get the same thing.
    No doubt some wonderful person will provide you with the answer. Which will also interest me.:)
     
  16. needfx macrumors 68040

    needfx

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    macrumors apparently
    #16
    what file format file has skype saved? can you post an info attachment?

    mpeg streamclip, as CGBIER previously suggested for the threadstarter's issue, could potentially help you transcribe it to a format "renderable" by fcpx.
     
  17. nqand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #17
    Thanks for your replies needfx & daybreak. I couldn't attach a picture but here is what it says under the "General" info:

    Kind: QuickTime Movie
    Dimensions: 640 x 480
    Codecs AAC, H.264

    The file says ".mov" after the title. Does that help?

    Is mpeg stream clip another program?
     
  18. nqand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #18
    Thanks for your replies needfx & daybreak. I couldn't attach a picture but here is what it says under the "General" info:

    Kind: QuickTime Movie
    Dimensions: 640 x 480
    Codecs AAC, H.264

    The file says ".mov" after the title. Does that help?

    Is mpeg stream clip another program?
     
  19. needfx macrumors 68040

    needfx

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    macrumors apparently
    #19
    I don't see why fcp would not render these files.

    yes, mpeg streamclip is freeware for a/v content conversion. best out there.

    http://www.squared5.com/

    try a conversion to any other format and load it in fcp to see it if it works.
    or try any other video file on your computer, before the above.
     

Share This Page