How to Create a Network.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hishat, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. hishat macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    hi guys, iv searched forums and none have really answered my question, i am lookin 2 connect my macbook and computer together. ( so i can access files on my pc through my macbook) my pc has 1TB of space and many songs. however, i dont know how to. iv tried to in the past to reach a dead end..would be appreciated if someone could post me a hyperlink of a thread or go through step by step what i have to do to get my mac to access my PC.

    PC running windows vista
    Mac: Mac OS X (Tiger10.4.10)

    Thanks in Advance Guys
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Now luckily thanks to edesignuk there's a Wiki guide on how to do this here. Enjoy! :)
     
  3. hishat thread starter macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    im having difficulties sharing on a Windows Vista! i can access my mac thru Windows...but cant access my windows thru mac? :S the wikipedia page shows a XP setup...i tried 2 work along the lines...all went well til i tried to connect to ma PC thru ma MAC

    ????
     
  4. JimmyDThing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #4
    Are these question marks in response to you having Vista?

    Why do you have Vista? Get rid of it, it blows.
     
  5. hishat thread starter macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    LOL. i know it does...but brother wants the 'Latest' operating system. iv got my mac so i dont care....but can any1 help me?? i click on connect to network...put in my PC's ip address...then the name of the folder i got on shared...but it doesnt wanna connect :-S
     
  6. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #6
    LOL! ...but very, very true ;)

    By the way hishat (what does your name mean? pooing from a height?..nm), do you have Simple File Sharing enabled in Vista?
     
  7. hishat thread starter macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    By the way hishat (what does your name mean? pooing from a height?..nm), do you have Simple File Sharing enabled in Vista?[/QUOTE]

    i have it enabled in my networks...and everything is set! i dont know why i cant access the folder? :S
     
  8. hishat thread starter macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  9. antdgar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #9
    I had to restart the windows machine after I set up the network. I don't know what your problem is..
     
  10. hishat thread starter macrumors regular

    hishat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    hmmmmmmmmmm....the problem is with the mac's connection with the PC...i will restart. but i doubt it will work...cheers anyway ;)
     

Share This Page