How To Create A Repository For Installer!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by ipodtouchpros, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. ipodtouchpros macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #1
    HI EVERYONE, A LOT OF PEOPLE HAVE BEEN ASKING ABOUT HOW TO MAKE A REPOSITORY FOR INSTALLER SO I AM GOING TO SHOW YOU HOW TO MAKE ONE.

    DOWNLOADING THE .XML CODE

    1: Download the .xml code here: http://ipodtouchpros.googlepages.com/repo.zip

    EXTRACTING:

    2. After it's done downloading, just extract the zip folder to your desktop.

    MAKING A GOOGLEPAGES ACCOUNT

    3. Make a googlepages account or if you already have one then that's ok too. This is what the googlepages account should look like if you've done it right: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...loof/Step2.jpg

    OPENING YOUR REPOSITORY

    4. Open up the repo page with notepad.exe like this http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...loof/step3.jpg then do this http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...oof/step32.jpg

    NAMING YOUR REPOSITORY AND PUTTING INFO ON IT

    5. Now you have to edit your repository by following this picture: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...loof/step4.jpg

    SAVING YOUR REPO

    6. Once you follow that picture, and put everything where it needs to be click "save as" and then type in repo.xml and make sure that you save it to ALL FILES! Like this: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...oof/step42.jpg

    UPLOADING PACKAGE TO YOUR WEBSITE

    7. Before adding a package to your repo, you must upload the .zip of the item you want on your repo to your googlepages account. So lets say you have a 112 weather zip folder. You go to your website and upload the 112 weather. When you upload it should look like this:http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...f/step4123.jpg

    ADDING PACKAGES TO YOUR REPOSITORY

    8. Once you have saved it, open it back up with notepad and follow these instructions: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...oof/step43.jpg

    ADDING MORE PACKAGES TO YOUR REPOSITORY

    9. To add more packages to your repo, all you do is copy the <dict> above the <key>bundleidentifier<key> and scroll down while copying and then stop at the
    </array>
    </array>
    </dict>
    </dict>

    After you copy those (you will have copied 42 lines), you have to paste all of 42 of those lines right above the
    </array>
    </dict>
    </plist>

    This is what the repo should look like after adding two packages.

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>info</key>
    <dict>
    <key>name</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>description</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>maintainer</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>contact</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>url</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>category</key>
    <string></string>
    </dict>
    <key>packages</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>bundleIdentifier</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>name</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>version</key>
    <string>1.0</string>
    <key>location</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>category</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>size</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>hash</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>url</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>description</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>date</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>scripts</key>
    <dict>
    <key>install</key>
    <array>
    <array>
    <string>CopyPath</string>
    <string></string>
    <string></string>
    </array>
    </array>
    <key>uninstall</key>
    <array>
    <array>
    <string>RemovePath</string>
    <string></string>
    </array>
    </array>
    </dict>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>bundleIdentifier</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>name</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>version</key>
    <string>1.0</string>
    <key>location</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>category</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>size</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>hash</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>url</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>description</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>date</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>scripts</key>
    <dict>
    <key>install</key>
    <array>
    <array>
    <string>CopyPath</string>
    <string></string>
    <string></string>
    </array>
    </array>
    <key>uninstall</key>
    <array>
    <array>
    <string>RemovePath</string>
    <string></string>
    </array>
    </array>
    </dict>
    </dict>
    </array>
    </dict>
    </plist>


    CONNECTING TO YOUR REPO:

    All you do to connect to your repo is upload repo.xml to your googlepages account and then when its done, go to installer and type in the name of the googlepages account like this: http://ipodtouchpros.googlepages.com/repo.xml

    If you see your package and it says "main execution failed" then that means you didn't zip the package correctly. However, if it says "package download failed" that means you didn't copy the size correctly or the hash isn't right.

    You may check your repository next to mine if you would like to use an example. Mine is http://ipodtouchpros.googlepages.com/repo.xml


    I hope this helps you!!
    __________________
    Hi everyone come check out my websitehttp://freewebs.com/ipodtouchpros
    ALSO add my source for installerhttp://ipodtouchpros.googlepages.com/repo.xml
     
  2. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    if your gonna post something to advertise your own repo try doing a guide with working image links :p
     
  3. ipodtouchpros thread starter macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #3
    First of all, I am NOT trying to advertise my REPO!!!!! That's why the title is how to make a repo. I'm trying to help people make a repository too. I just told them mine so that they can look at mine for an example. Second of all, the other page I put the image links on worked fine and I was unaware about that so I thank you for that. THis is the link for the other page: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=5239739&posted=1#post5239739
     
  4. ipodtouchpros thread starter macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #4
    Everyone, please give me some feedback on what you think about the tutorial. I'm sorry that the pictures don't work. I know the other link right above this.


    Thanks!
     
  5. hooplehead macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
  6. ipodtouchpros thread starter macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #6
    Hi, when you jailbreak your iPod touch or iPhone, you get an application called installer. In installer, you may install many cool applications. To get some of these applications, you have to add sources called repositories. If you have a repository, you can put cool applications on it for you and other people to use. Hope this helps!
     
  7. ipodmaster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #7
    i was prescribed repositories not long ago they sure are difficult to insert sometimes :eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
  8. ipodtouchpros thread starter macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #8
    Yah, sometimes they are REALLY annoying because you cant do one thing wrong!!
     
  9. hooplehead macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the patient answer...mostly people get mocked here for not knowing a definition or usage. So what benefit is what you've posted compared to all the sources I have already on my ipod Touch through simply "adding sources" by typing in the source URL? Even more sources? Do you need to SSH (just wondering cuz I think I can't SSH as I don't have wireless on my home PC)?

    Thanks!
     
  10. ipodtouchpros thread starter macrumors member

    ipodtouchpros

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    AZ
    #10
    You're welcome for the answer. A source is great for...let's just say you really like 7 different applications but they are all over different sources and they are hard to find....You can just put those applications on your source so all you do is add your source and they are all right there. No, you don't have to ssh into your ipod.

    Hope this helps!
     
  11. alucarde2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #11

Share This Page