How To: Custom Ringtones (Garageband)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by DaveTaylor, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. DaveTaylor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    #1
    I am sorry if this has already been posted but I recieved my iPhone last night and tried it and I wanted to share it with people so again sorry if it has been. Basically all you need is the song you want and Garageband (4.1.1 +) the simple steps are:
    1) Locate the song in itunes you wish to use and drag and drop it into Garageband (No protected files can be used!)
    2) Press the Cycle key at the moment next to the "LCD" display to turn it on
    3) Locate the section of the song you wish to use and then hit along that section (40 seconds max)
    4) If the section you choose is to long it will resent it in this step but go to Share > Send Ringtone to iTunes.

    And there you go, like I said again i am sorry if it's public knowledge this thread can be deleted, if not enjoy and if it's not explained very well I will add screenies :)
     
  2. darthdarragh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #2
    Cheers mate!

    hey thanks for you help. really appreciated. i could do with a custom ringtone.:D:)
     
  3. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yea its been around awhile :) but thanks for the post
     
  4. DaveTaylor thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    #4
    Haha, thought so sorry, but it's helped one person so I am happy ^_^!
     
  5. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
  6. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    Thanks! I've never bothered to look into how it's done and just thought this was a question about how to do it, not a simple guide... good to know it's that easy!
     
  7. bhsu21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #8
    First time I've used GarageBand and the instructions were easy to use. Thanks!!
     
  8. wildmilne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #10
    I did this once, worked great. So last night i did like 10 more ringtones, put them on the phone, set them to some friends numbers, at work tried to show off and they ddint work. I then tried setting their number to the first ring tone i made, then that worked, set it to the new one i made for them, then it worked...weird...anyone else get weird behavior like that?
     
  9. viggen61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    Hmmm... Don't have an iPhone yet, but will be getting one :D after the announcement. Can I start making ringtones now, in anticipation, or does GB check to see if you've got an iPhone first?
    :apple:
     
  10. sMiK macrumors regular

    sMiK

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #12
    alright, a very nice and easy way, thanks man :)
     
  11. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    This is a great way to make ringtones!

    I downloaded the iPhone Ad music and made that in to a ringtone.

    My friends think it's kind of lame but they all knew where the music was from :D

    - D
     
  12. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Cool, is that the one off the iPhone Ad's which isn't actually on the iPhone but out of one of the iLife apps!?

    - D
     
  13. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #16
    Yep. The third one I made myself but isnt that great. I will be making more when I get round to it.
     
  14. delamerbleu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #17
    thanks for this. But i have a little problem to load the custom ringtones with incoming call.

    I selected the custom ringtone from the list. I can even play it on the sound page. In the contact page, it also associates the custom ringtone to default ringtone. But when there is an incoming call, it doesn't load the custom ringtone.

    Any idea how to fix it :confused:
     
  15. zmit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #18
    what firmware?
    do you have the song in itunes as a ringtone?
    try deleting it and loading it again...
     

Share This Page