How to debug a framework

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by SkyStreak, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. SkyStreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #1
    Using XCode.

    I have compiled a framework ( in this case GLUT ) as "Development". I then include this framework in an application and run the application in the debugger. However the debugger will not let me 'step in' to a function in the GLUT framework. How can I do this?

    Also - is there a way to see what the actual compile commands that XCode is using? The output window just lists the errors/warnings. Not the actual commands that generated them.
     
  2. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #2
    Can you confirm that the version of GLUT you compiled is the one being used by the application? If I remember correctly, OS X comes with a GLUT framework which you can't debug.
     
  3. SkyStreak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #3
    Which version of glut

    I added the glut framework by browsing to the framework that I had compiled and adding that. However it is hard to 'confirm' since I can't seem to see the actual compile commands. Thus my secondary question - since I had the same thought as you.
     
  4. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #4
    You can do a otool -L to get the list of libraries the executable is linked with (same as the ldd command on linux).

    At least you'll know if you linked against the right thing.
     
  5. SkyStreak thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #5
    It's linking against the system....

    Thx.

    I add the GLUT framework by browseing to the GLUT framework I had built - but it's still grabbing the system version of GLUT. Looks like I'll have to set the framework search path to get it to work.
     

Share This Page