How To Delete A Program

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Toughbook, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Toughbook macrumors newbie

Toughbook

Stop laughing! I'm brand new to this Mac thing:) What is the CORRECT way to delete a program fully? on my Windows machines I use Revo Uninstaller which removes and deletes all the programs files and registry files. Thanks for the help!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

If you just want to delete the app, drag the .app file to the trash. No other software needed. If you want to completely remove all associated files/folders, no removal apps will do the job.

The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
    In most cases, app removal software doesn't do a thorough job of finding and removing files/folders related to deleted apps. For more information, read this.

3. Toughbook thread starter macrumors newbie

Toughbook

Ok, makes since. How do I find the .app files? Sorry...

4. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

Google "AppTrap" (I am pretty certain that's the name). After that's installed, simply drag and drop your unwanted program to the trash bin on the dock. AppTrap will remove any additional lib files.

Great piece of software for someone who's not interested in messing around in the file system.

5. Toughbook thread starter macrumors newbie

Toughbook

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Usually they're in your /Applications folder.
    Read my first post. AppTrap is not effective in removing all files. Also, see this.

7. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

Read my post. :rolleyes:

8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I did read it. It's just as effective to simply drag the app to the Trash. AppTrap and others primarily delete the .plist files and a few others, leaving much larger files behind.