How to delete the Windows partition in Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Imola Ghost, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I used Boot Camp to setup a partition for installing Windows. I no longer need the partition nor Windows. How can I delete that partition and make it useful for my laptop?

    I'd like to have it as just one big hard drive rather than it showing up as 2 separate hard drives. I believe it's called extend the hard drive if I'm correct.
     
  2. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #2
    Boot from your Leopard or Snow Leopard DVD, run Disk Utility, click on the partition, click on 'Delete' (NOT 'Erase'!). Then you can resize the existing HFS+ partition to occupy the now freed-up space if you like.

    If your Boot Camp partition is on an external HD, then you do not need to boot off a DVD. The DVD boot only applies if you're trying to edit the internal boot drive's partitioning.
     
  3. P Mentior macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Try going into the bootcamp assistant. Hit continue on the first screen and select "Create or remove a Windows partition" on the next and follow the steps.
     
  4. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #4
    I would do it through Boot Camp Assistant first rather than Disk Utility only using Disk Utility of Boot Camp Assistant fails which some have experienced.
     
  5. zwaldowski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
  6. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #6
    Before I heard any responses here I went into Disk Utility and "erased" the Windows boot camp partition. I may have created more work for myself but...

    Now when I go into Boot Camp Assistant I get this message:

    The startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition.

    The startup disk must be formatted as a single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume or already partitioned by Boot Camp Assistant for installing Windows.
     
  7. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    #7
    Did you extend the Mac OS X partition to fill the entire HD again?
     
  8. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #8

    No I was waiting for a solution for above. I didn't know what to do. I still have my Snow Leopard partition [475gb] and the, now "UNTITLED" hard drive partition [25gb].

    I still need assistance.
     
  9. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
  10. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    #10
    When I deleted my windows partition I didn't use bootcamp. I went into disk utility, clicked the window partition, then hit the minus button to get rid of it... dragged the Mac OS X partition to fill the entire HDD and hit apply... easy as that :D
     
  11. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #11


    I clicked on the Windows partition but I don't see a + or - sign.
     
  12. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    #12
    its below the left of the partition box, see my picture for help, my mouse was hovering over it (screen shots dont pick up mouse) and the info box is visible
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #13
    thanks that did it. I was selecting the wrong partitions. I needed to be at the main part of the partition.
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    Please use Cmd-Shift-4 for these kind of screenshots. Add a space bar when mouse is over a window if you don't want to manually select the area.
     
  15. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    #15
    But i wanted to show the location of the minus button by hovering over it...
     
  16. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #16
    You can still do it with cmd-sh-4 ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
    #17
    ahh cool. Couldn't be bothered testing, but who cares anyway? the files only 438KB
     
  18. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #18
    Well, not everyone has 10 Mbit internet..

    And besides, this way you won't be exposing your entire screen to the world O_O ;)
     

Share This Page