How to design iphone apps??

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by djsound, Sep 1, 2011.

1. djsound macrumors 6502a

djsound

So if someone wanted to learn how to design apps for iphone and ipad how would they go about doing that? I am just a graphic designer at this point ....what code/ languages would I need to learn? I know nothing about coding so far...Any recommendations? I am in Vancouver Canada....thanks!

2. admanimal macrumors 68040

Do you mean that you want to design the user interface for iPhone and iPad apps, or you want to create (i.e. program) fully working apps?

3. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

djsound

option two. i'd like to learn to do the coding and create the whole app

4. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

If you go back to the list of threads, you'll notice just above the list there is a link labeled:
    In any event, I suggest you do the following:
    1.) Pick up the C Programming Language (it's a book. White cover with a big blue C in the middle.) Follow the tutorials from the first chapter or two of the book. You're just looking to pick up the basics of C, the rest of it is good to know, but not strictly necessary to know to write functional code.)

2.) After learning the basics of C as described above, dive into Stanford's iOS programming lessons on iTunes U. They have 20 lessons or so, a little over an hour each, that will teach you everything you need to know to write all but the most advanced of iPhone / iPad / iPod Touch applications.

5. djsound, Sep 1, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011

djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

djsound

Thanks so much artofwar!! I thought I'd have to go to school or something....much appreciated. I'm on it! :D

Art have you created any apps?

6. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare