How to determine if OS X leopard is pirated?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ruckuzz, Feb 14, 2008.

1. Ruckuzz macrumors newbie

Hi, i'm new to macs, and i'm excited about my new purchase... just bought one from BestBuy reletavely cheap. It's a 15" Macbook pro with leopard pre-installed.

The thing about this is it's a slightly used model, the person who sold it to me said the install disks are missing and so he'd knock $200 off the already reduced price!! So i ended up buying AppleCare protection with it to secure my purchase and off i went.

What bothers me now is, leopard runs fine, dont get me wrong, i'm just worried that what if this is a pirated version of Leopard on my macbook pro? Only reason i suspect it is because this macbook is an older model with the previous CPU and HD configuration seen on the Tiger Macbook pro releases (2.33ghz intel core 2 duo and 120gb HD). Couple that with the fact that the install CD's were missing?!

Is there any way to find out if my Leopard is pirated? any number to call or program to run?

I just dont want to bring my Macbook pro in for repair one day (knock on wood) and Apple refuses to do it because my OS is pirated.

Any help would be appreciated!

2. Peace macrumors P6

Peace

If you bought applecare for your MBP I wouldn't worry.

Call applecare and tell them you dont have the install disks and they should send them to you for a nominal fee.

As far as Leopard being pirated? there's no program like microsofts program to check for pirated versions.

Your only problem is you don't have a physical copy of Leopard.

3. Ruckuzz thread starter macrumors newbie

So i even if this version of leopard installed on my mac is pirated, applecare will not turn me down for service?