how to dial international #'s from different countries

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hehe299792458, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #1
    say I need to dial a number in Toronto, Canada (416) 000-0001. From different places, I dial different numbers:

    Canada: (416) 000-0001
    US: 1 (416) 000-0001
    China 00 1 (416) 000-0001

    yes, adding a "+1" resolves all problems for calls in US and Canada, from US and Canada.

    However, calls to/from other countries require extra digits (country code, etc). My question is how to input these digits in my cell phone so that it knows when to use them (e.g. when I'm abroad) and when not to use them (e.g. when I'm home). Otherwise, I'd have to edit these numbers manually every time I 'm abroad.
     
  2. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #2
    Just put the international prefix on all of them, it'll be ignored when you're calling from within that country e.g. here in the UK I put +44 in front of all my UK numbers, works fine whether I'm within the UK or abroad.
     
  3. hehe299792458 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #3
    but for dialing UK numbers from abroad, don't you have to dial "00" before "44"
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    The + takes care of the 00.
     
  5. hehe299792458 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #5
    hmmm..... in my case, the "+" doesn't seem to take care of a the "001"
     
  6. eron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #6
    Make sure you have the country codes in front of the numbers in your address book.

    For example, calling Australia's country code is +61.
    So landlines would be +61 3 9234 2345
    Mobiles would be +61 4 23 234 234.

    Leave out the ZEROS in front of the area codes.

    This way, the numbers would work regardless if you are calling them locally or overseas.
     
  7. hehe299792458 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #7
    thanks. that seemed to work.

    has anyone managed to get address book to automatically format phone numbers based on digit length?
     
  8. hehe299792458 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #8
    anyone? it'd be nice if address book wouldn't mess up the formatting
     

Share This Page