How to disable EDGE?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mreddys10, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    Hi,
    I have an unlocked iPhone 2.0 and wanted to know how to disable EDGE. I want to connect to the net only thru WiFi. Fido (provider) in Canada charges a lot for data transfer, and since they just released the iPhone here, EDGE is automatically enabled and most apps i open access the net. How do i stop it?
     
  2. dosequis macrumors newbie

    dosequis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    #2
    Use Cydia to get Boss Prefs

    There is an option to turn off EDGE within the app.
     
  3. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #3

    I have to do this thru the phone? any way i can do this thru the computer and itunes? also, can i download other apps from cydia to my iphone without having to use EDGE?
     
  4. dosequis macrumors newbie

    dosequis

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    #4
    Not that I am aware of... Anyone else?
     
  5. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #5
    thanks for the help anyway :)
     
  6. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    Problem solved....just called FIDO and told them to put a restriction on EDGE service for me
     
  7. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #7
    Yup. That's what I exactly did with T-Mobile. I told them to disable my internet package.
     
  8. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #8
    T-Mo here in the US doesn't even let you access data without a package.
     
  9. WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #9
    I will not be advertising this feature to my customers. I'd rather sell them data.
     
  10. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #10
    thats exactly wat they r doing here. U dont need a plan to get access to EDGE/GPRS. The moment ur phone uses it, u get charged. I found the rates and they are insane.
    5c/kb, 10c/email

    even with an unlimited data plan, its only unlimited surfing, extra charges for email and downloads. Feels like i am back in 1990 or something. Imagine i pay $1 for a 1MB app on itunes, and my carrier charges me $5!!!!!
     
  11. ninethirty macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #11
    Anyone know if you can disable EDGE on a 3G iPhone so that your phone only connects to 3G when it's available, and no service if it isnt? I ask because 2.02 causes my phone to connect more often to EDGE and I know there's 3G service because I was always connected to it prior to 2.02?
     
  12. mikecenizal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #12
    hmmm. i always thought that simply enabling the data roaming off feature stopped the data from being used? is this true? i would like to know because i am giving my old iphone as a hand me down and the person i am giving it to does not have an unlimited data plan.
     
  13. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #13
    Disabling Edge in my area would be a nightmare!

    BossPrefs is the Cydia program you're looking for.
     

Share This Page