How to disable internal display on macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by idonotliketostu, May 25, 2010.

  1. idonotliketostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #1
    Is there a tweak out there that will disable the internal display while using an external monitor WITHOUT having to first close the lid on my macbook because I just leave my macbook plugged in for weeks a couple feet away from my desk and it's become a hassle to first close the lid, then move my mouse, then open the lid for better ventilation. I just want to leave it open and disable the display!
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can't just turn the brightness all the way down? Or does that affect the external display, as well? It's been a while since I've used an external display with my MBP.
     
  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    SwitchResX. It allows you to deactivate a display that's currently in use.

    jW
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    hmm im not aware of a way to fix it :( you have to keep the lid closed from what i know
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    I just tested it. Plug in the external monitor and turn the brightness on the Macbook all the way down. Done!
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    That doesn't count as its still consuming power :p and using Gpu cycles.
     
  7. idonotliketostu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #7
    I didn't want to do that because my mouse would sometimes go over to that internal display i'll go crazy looking for it.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    What difference would that make, if it's running on AC Power?
     
  9. idonotliketostu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #9
    I just downloaded that. The program is too bloated and it doesn't work properly, when you disable a display, the program shuts off video output to that display but the backlight stays on!
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    use mirrored mode then lol.

    uses more electricity! :(
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Unscrew one light bulb and you can run 3 MBPs for the same power!
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    3 new ones :p lol
     
  13. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Any reason not to use a small magnet positioned just above the sleep-switch (just below and to the left of the Fn key) ?

    Thats what I do. Start up the MacBook and then just drop the magnet in place which sends the MacBook to sleep - then wake up the MacBook with the magnet still in place.

    The result is that the case is open for better ventilation and the MacBook screen (and backlight) are turned off. I use one of the magnets from the MacBook display but any small magnet will work fine.

    You will find the position for the magnet easily enough because you will see the sleep led turn on when it is in the correct position.
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    as long as it doesnt go near a mechanical hard drive or the screen for long periods of time it will be fine :)
     
  15. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #15
    I wouldn't use a rare earth magnet for the purpose, but a normal one should be fine.
     
  16. idonotliketostu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #16

    Actually I tried that before making this thread. I have a magnet that came from an old macbook's lid. I though the switch was above the infrared receiver but that did nothing and gave up lol.

    I found the switch and it's on the bottom right corner of the recessed keyboard which is between the hard drive and super drive.

    The magnets used in the macbook are rare earth magnets coated a chromium like finish and it is super strong. Considering that the computer is able to operate when the lid is close with a magnet built in, i think it'll be pretty safe.
     
  17. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #17
    The reed switch in my 13" Mid 2010 MacBook Pro is located just in front of the audio port on the left side of the case.
     
  18. idonotliketostu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008

Share This Page