How to Do a Clean Install?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ComicStix, Aug 29, 2009.

1. ComicStix macrumors member

I am installing Snow Leopard on My Tiger computer. Backed up the files

1. I was wondering since I am on Tiger will I need to do a clean install or just an upgrade? (Dumb question but I need answers) I have the upgrade disk and I heard the upgrade disk is the exact same as the box set and I do not need iwork 09 cause I already have it and I don't need ilife 09 because I have final Cut pro, photoshop, and I have some HTML knowledge. Also, i have no interest in music making so I don't need ilife.

2. If I do need to do a clean install how do I do that?

3. Could I just do a upgrade?

2. rKunda macrumors 65816

rKunda

I like clean installs.

Do this. Insert the SN disk. Restart holdng the option key, then choose to boot from the disk. One it loads choose utilities on the menu bar. Find your drive and erase it with disk utility. Then exit out to the man screen and install. Done.

Make sure to have backups.

3. DaveICT macrumors newbie

But don't forget to BACKUP everything. A clean install cleans off the hard drive, data included.

Dave

4. ComicStix thread starter macrumors member

Should I disconnect my external hard drive during the installation?
    Should I just backup my files and if I can't do an upgrade should I just do a clean install?

5. DaveICT macrumors newbie

I haven't heard of any problems that involved external hard drives in a few years. However, a few years ago, some firewire drives were affected during the upgrade process. So since then, I have unplugged mine just to be on the safe side.

6. DaveICT macrumors newbie

I did an upgrade instead of the erase and install. Worked on both of mine.

7. ComicStix thread starter macrumors member

Thanks DaveICT but just wondering were you running Tiger or Leopard when you installed? :apple:

8. david803sc macrumors member

david803sc