How to do I get out of this debacle??? (Lion Recovery)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by James Cole, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. James Cole macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #1
    I suddenly can't start my iMac with lion (it just stays on the spinning disc with the apple logo)... Ran recovery mode... disk error says... INVALID SIBLING LINK and cannot be repaired... and disk utility just tells me to back up the files that I can... and reformat the drive...

    Question is how do I backup my files if I can't access the OS... tried burning an image on an external drive... no luck because it copies the INVALID SIBLING LINK so I can't mount it in my other mac...

    What can I do guys??? I need to recover those files ASAP...
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Can you boot into safe mode (power off, power on while holding down the spacebar)?

    How about try resetting PRAM (power off, power on while holding down cmd-option-P-R and release when you hear the second chime).

    Try SMC reset (power off, hold power button down for 10 seconds).

    If all else fails take the computer to the Apple store explain your situation and see if they can help you out. You can probably boot in target disk mode (power on, holding down the T key) and copy off your files onto another HD and re-install followed by copying the files back onto the computer.
     
  3. James Cole thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #3
    Just what im looking for thanks... But could you explain further how do I copy the files to an external HDD using disk target mode? Thanks!!'
     
  4. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    Boot the iMac into target disk mode and connect it to another Mac computer via USB or firewire cable. The iMac HD would mount on the other Mac computer. Copy the files from the iMac HD to another HD.
     
  5. James Cole thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
  6. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Or an ethernet cable works if you have one around.
     
  7. James Cole, Aug 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2011

    James Cole thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #7
    Just connect both via ethernet cable???

    Any ethernet cable that both sides are the same?
     
  8. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Yeap. It should work.
     
  9. James Cole thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #9
    Tried it the imac shows a firewire logo but i cant see anything connected to my macbook pro...???
     
  10. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #10
    Try a firewire or USB cable instead.
     
  11. James Cole thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #11
    How should I search for my damaged iMac when it target disk mode with my macbook pro?
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    Slow down, and read this: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1661

    I believe that only FireWire cables are supported.

    USB generally isn't peer-to-peer and Ethernet will only work if both computers will boot. IMHO.

    B
     
  13. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #13
    I believe that Firewire Target Disk Mode only works with Firewire. ;)
     
  14. AppliedMicro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #14
    Target Disk Mode also works over Thunderbolt. Both computers of course have to have with Thunderbolt ports, but seeing the original poster's signature, his MacBook Pro has one. It definitely does not work over Ethernet or USB.
     

Share This Page