How to downgrade to iOS 6.1.x without losing data - the right way

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Sirious, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. Sirious, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    Sirious macrumors 65816

    Sirious

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey,
    I thought I'd share something that I found out myself which might help people who want to keep their current data when downgrading back to iOS 6.1.x (with x being 3 or 4 - depending on your device's current public release).

    Despite what people think, you can definitely downgrade to iOS 6.1.x without entering DFU mode, restoring your device or losing data.
    Here are the steps.

    Before you begin, I recommend that you remove Newsstand from the folder you put it in and have your folders with no more than 12 apps in them, just to make the switch even more seamless.

    1. Locate and download the IPSW for iOS 6.1.x yourself
    2. Connect your device and in iTunes, press Shift (or alt on Mac) and choose 'Check for Update' - NOT restore.
    3. Select the IPSW for iOS 6.1.3.
    4. Your phone will 'update' to iOS 6.1.3.
    This will change your software from iOS 7 to 6.1.x without affecting any current data. If you tried to restore instead, you would not be able to use the iOS 7 backup because a new backup will not work with old software.

    This works because iOS 7 is not signed as a public release. You are effectively updating to the public release - with no need to go time travel to last week's backup.

    Note: For the best downgrade, you should take the plunge and just hit Restore.
    Good luck!
     
  2. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
  3. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
  4. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    I never would have thought... good stuff man. This is legit helpful.
     
  5. Reason077 macrumors 68000

    Reason077

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    … you'll go straight back? ;)
     
  6. Sirious thread starter macrumors 65816

    Sirious

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Glad to share and help ;)
     
  7. falkedup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #7
    mine went into DFU at the end of the update... do i have to do the whole process again?
     
  8. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #8
    hey op, you weren't that clear do I have to be on DFU or not? thanks for the tip tho' if it works you are the master!
     
  9. Blackforge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #9
    You can't do an update if iTunes detects DFU.
     
  10. Sirious thread starter macrumors 65816

    Sirious

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Just plug into iTunes as normal, no DFU mode or anything like that.
     
  11. falkedup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
  12. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #12
    This is normal. This method didn't work and this was the case when iOS 6 was in beta and people tried to go back by "updating". I don't know how this can work. OP: Have you tried it yourself?
     
  13. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    This is nothing new honestly and could be done with every iOS beta in the past, but it's good that someone brought it up.
     
  14. Sirious thread starter macrumors 65816

    Sirious

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Yes I have, many times. It has been working flawlessly for me.
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    Why isn't this mentioned in pretty much any thread talking about going back to iOS 6 without losing data? All of those kinds of threads end up having a bunch of replies from different people simply saying it can't be done and you only can do it using an iOS 6 backup (or just starting it all anew). Seems like this "old" method should be brought up sooner or later in those threads, and yet it doesn't seem to be.
     
  16. batting1000, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    I personally forgot about it until a couple days ago. I wasn't really sure I wanted to suggest it to anyone because I wasn't sure if it would apply to iOS 7 or not.
     
  17. ZombiePete macrumors 68020

    ZombiePete

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #17
    I was thinking the exact same thing when I read that comment.
     
  18. falkedup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #18
    mine keeps ending up in dfu mode. I backed up ios7 to icloud then i clicked check for update while holding alt. i selected 6.1.3 and it still puts me in dfu mode after it finishes.

    please help
     
  19. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    You might be better off restoring instead. This is why I wasn't sure if this method should be brought up or not.
     
  20. jcdm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
  21. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    Why would you need a registered UDID to go to iOS 6?
     
  22. jcdm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #22
    :d
     
  23. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
    I'm confused. Am I missing something here?
     
  24. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #24
    He was trying to post a grin (colon followed by capital D). If you are posting from tapatalk, the capital D gets replaced by small d.
     
  25. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
    Oh ok. :eek:
     

Share This Page