How to downgrade to Snow Leopard ( I'm a Newbie)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mr.Uav, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Mr.Uav macrumors newbie

I'm new to Macs and i just got my Macbook Pro 13" about a week ago and it came with Lion installed but for some reason Lion is a battery drainer and a heat sinker. I need some help downgrading to Snow leopard, any suggestions?

2. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

eagandale4114

If its a late 2011 MBP then due to driver issues it will be impossible.

3. squeakr macrumors 68000

squeakr

Welcome to Mac and enjoy your MBP. I have to ask though, if you are truly new to Macs and this is your first, how would you know that Lion is worse on battery life than SL???? I say just use it and be happy. My wife has an early 2011 13 i5 and no difference was noted between SL and Lion (hers came with SL as it was released prior to Lion). She is a newbie as well and didn't notice a bit of difference when I installed Lion on hers. I have an early 2011 15 2.3 I7 and have noticed no difference as well (and I upgraded the first day Lion was released). I would make sure you don't have a process running in the background that is eating cycles.

4. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

Not quite. On the 13" there were no significant hardware changes, as such Snow Leopard will run. The problem is getting install DVD that will work. If you had a 10.6.8 image, you would be gold.

5. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

You can download a install DVD from the web.
    I would stick with Lion with a new Notebook. Battery life really sucks on the old ones like 2010 and older but the new ones aren't so bad.
    I am guessing some of the GUI changes work well with new modified drivers for Intel HD 3000 and the rest but they suck power at all the old machines.

6. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

Not one that will allow you to install.

7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

how do you know SL is better if your new to Macs, and only using Lion for a week