how to edit plist files?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by braimi, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. braimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I want to edit plist file for an application i.e. I want to change the server address for that application. I know the file and also can see the ip address of server but when I change it, application says invalid signature.

    please help me that how can I do it?

    thanks
     
  2. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Is the problem in the editing and SSH or is the problem with the application after you have edited it? Which app and what are you trying to do? Its possib that app won't let you change the server address. That was the case when people tried top manually block ads in some apps.
     
  3. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Definitely need some more information here... Also, you should probably change the post title to something more descriptive.

    The answer to the title question is "Any text editor like the one in iFile, vi, nano or on your computer"

    Then you said something TOTALLY different in your post. So please elaborate if you want more help. :D
     
  4. braimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #4
    I am trying to hack a voip app called vippie to get it work with my voip server. it can be installed by adding http://www.callto.net/vippie source to cydia. I have no problem in accessing the iphone or ssh. app also installed successfully but to use application we need to configure it under the settings where they have fixed their server address which I want to change to my server address. I found that address under inf.plist file which I edited using notpad ++ and replaced the edited file. after replacing the file tried to open the application but returned an error "Incorrect Application Signature."
     
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    The app worked before?

    I thought code signatures where ignored if you had Jailbroken... Like that it was the reason for jailbreaking...

    Oh well. Sounds like the app doesn't like you editing that Plist. You can try to remove the app, install it again and make sure it runs with the default plist. Then I'd try editing the plist from the phone. Just in-case the file got saved in a different format with Notepad++ (There are subtle diffs in text files for Win, Unix and Mac. Maybe this is a compatibility issue)
     
  6. braimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #6
    Yes the app worked after the installation with original settings but didnt work after editing the plist file. I made a copy of original plist file and if I restore the original file app starts working again. Can you please help me out that how can I get rid of this message and can edit the file successfully?
     
  7. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Well, if it works normally, but not with your change, there has to be something else in the app that checks that address and no amount of plist editing will fix. You may not be able to make that change.
     
  8. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    May I suggest Siphon? It's a VOIP dialer that's free on Cydia as well.

    Supports any server address. You can just type it in.
     
  9. braimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #9
    dear I also know this app but the country i am in port 5060 is blocked and we use tunnel to connect to it and these software doesnt have tunnel feature. that is why I want to crack this application because it has got builtin tunnel.
     
  10. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Dear?...

    Siphon has support for a proxy if you can work around it that way.

    http://code.google.com/p/siphon/wiki/SIPSettings
    http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t232375-siprtp-proxytunnel.html

    If that helps. Otherwise I think you may be SOL. I think the full version of the (vippie) app allows you to change the server to whatever. But you may have to pay for it. :D
     
  11. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #11
    Try this. Ssh to the phone or open MobileTerminal (available from Cydia), type this and hit enter:

    ldid -S name_of_the_program

    The name of the program is probably vippie.app or Vippie.app
     
  12. braimi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #12
    Dear I tried the command n i got this message

    ./minimal/mapping.h(54): _assert (2:false)

    can you please tell me in detail what it is? and how to do it?
     

Share This Page