How to enable Arabic in MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by haquae, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. haquae macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Dubai
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I bought a MacBook Pro:apple: from USA and it only displays western scripts. I cannot display Arabic files and other languages. How can I enable Arabic script? i need to use it with Microsoft Office, messenger, subtitles (.srt), etc... Please help :confused:


    Thanks
     
  2. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #2
    I'll assume you purchased it brand new? The very first setup you go through I thought asked you about region codes and language choices. That is the only time I've seen an option. Could reinstall OSX to try it, or easier and less hassle maybe to call Apple support.

    Good Luck
     
  3. r i c h macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I only have experience enabling Japanese and not Arabic but I assume the settings are the same...

    System Preferences > International > Input Menu

    After you reach the Input Menu you should see a list of available languages...and from there you'll be able to select how you enable the second language on the keyboard.

    Hope this helps...
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    System Preferences->International->Languages

    From there, you should be able to select languages that you want. The problem is that some installations will only install the default language (English/Spanish in the US), so you would need to reinstall the OS, then when you get the option to "Customize" select the other languages you want to be able to use.

    TEG
     
  5. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #5
    bad news, Microsoft in their infinite wisdom did not add any Arabic support for Office on the Mac. :mad:
    here is the source from microsoft.com
    So if you need to use Office then you need to run the Windows Office, I am sorry :(
     
  6. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #6
    You can add Arabic script support using the input menu (international preference pane) and that will allow you to type Arabic on the keyboard.

    Office supports Unicode, so you can type Arabic in it (as well as TextEdit and any other application that supports Unicode).

    In terms of Arabic menus, I have no idea about that option.
     
  7. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #7
    Don't forget to chose the Arabic PC version which is way easier to use.

    In addition, you would be able to type Arabic in MS Office 2008 but the letters would be separated and strange looking as if you were viewing Arabic websites on an iPhone :eek:

    Please PM me if you need any further help :)
     
  8. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #8
    yeah, in other words, not Arabic ;)
     
  9. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    D'oh! TextEdit works :p

    So looks like MS Office is out (unless you get the Windows version under virtualization).

    Pages, and other unicode enabled apps that support right-to-left languages properly would work. You should try some of the other editors if it is less of hassle than running in Office in Parallels or VMWare.
     
  10. Vulcan macrumors 65816

    Vulcan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  11. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #11
    Any language that you select from the International preference pane can be used in the documents of an application if that app supports Unicode. If the app also supports right-to-left languages, then you can do that too.
     
  12. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #12
    It it strange that Arabic works everywhere except MS Office!!!

    It even works on NeoOffice which is another version of OpenOffice (FREEEEE)

    I do not get it how the MS messenger supports Arabic while their Office doesn't :confused:

    At the end, Apple does NOT support Arabic in general and that is shown on all the entire Apple products line unlike MS, but yet they screwed MS Office for Mac maybe to prevent people from buying Macs :D.
     
  13. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #13
    oh yeah, that's Microsoft's ultimate goal here :cool:
     
  14. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #14
    You can type Arabic in Apple products and it works fine, or do you mean the total conversion? Finder, Mail, iChat, etc. support it fine.
     
  15. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #15
    yes, but that's how far Apple's Arabic support is ... for now hopefully/
     
  16. Nabooly macrumors 6502a

    Nabooly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #16
    I have Arabic enabled and it works with everything except Photoshop. I think you actually haveto have the Arabic version to be able to use Arabic on it. (I use Pages and it works perfectly, most of the time.)
     
  17. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #17
    You are probably looking for the full Arabic conversion like Arabic Windows where the menus and dialog boxes, etc. are in Arabic yeah?
     
  18. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #18
    I would also like to see "marhaba" (welcome in Arabic) when I buy a new Mac :eek:
     
  19. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #19
    I don't want to see "marhaba" but "ahlan wa sahlan" ;)

    We can keep dreaming, but it would happen sometime after 2010 if Apple reaches big Arab corporates :D
     
  20. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #20
    ahlan is probably the better choice.

    With licensing "issues" in the ME, it will be tough.
     
  21. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #21
    What licensing issues?
     
  22. Nabooly macrumors 6502a

    Nabooly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #22
    Isnt apple (mac specifically) extremely popular in the ME?
     
  23. SaudiMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #23
    with a crappy distributor, no Arabic on the iPods (promised since 2006) and the lack of "real" Apple presence (since we dont have an online apple store I have to fax my iphone dev form, oh and their fax line is either busy or non responsive). I am surprised Apple is popular here ;)

    Apple in the middle east should be an interesting topic to discuss (not in this MBP topic, let's rename it :rolleyes: )
     
  24. johan.k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #24
    Make sure Show input menu in menu bar is activated. Most mac software like iwork had no issue on this manner but not for 3rd party. Have to figure out.

    كيف حالك؟
     

Share This Page