How to Enable Jumbo Frames

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by southerndoc, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I'm trying to enable jumbo frames (either 4000 or 9000) to speed up backups, disk access to NAS, etc.

    I'm currently using a DS213+. I'm planning on purchasing a 414+ sometime in the near future.

    All of my switches (Linksys LGS308P's and LGS318P) have enabled jumbo frames selected.

    Anytime I try to access work email or the student's address, we can't.
     
  2. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #2
    My recommendation:

    You'll probably need multiple network interfaces and put the jumbo frame equipment on a dedicated network. You won't be able to talk to other machines on the Internet over the jumbo frame interface if the MTU is actually turned up.

    Put the jumbo frame equipment on its own private switch and subnet to let them talk to each other. Use an alternate interface (wireless or some other ethernet adapter) to talk to the Internet.
     
  3. drsox, Aug 6, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014

    drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    IME jumbo frames aren't worth the effort, especially if you have a mixed network of Gigabit and non-Gigabit links.
    Presumably you know how to set Jumbo Frames in System Preferences (Network>Advanced>Hardware>Configure Manually) ?
     
  4. John Kotches macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Troy, IL (STL Area)
    #4
    Mfram:

    Actually you can access anything that crosses a router with jumbo frames enabled.

    Issues with jumbo frame are strictly a layer 2 item.
     
  5. southerndoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Was able to get it working after I routed everything through the switch in my basement. Basically the router has LAN1 connected to the LGS318P switch and LAN2-4 empty.

    Set the MTU's to 9000 manually (previously this wouldn't work; caused Time Machine to fail when backing up to my Synology DiskStation and wouldn't allow other Macs to screen share).

    I can now screen share from other Macs, Time Machine works, pings are going through at jumbo frame sizes, and can still connected to 100Mbps devices (Sonos, printer, etc.).
     
  6. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    Good to hear, but is it faster ?
     
  7. southerndoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Seems so, but it's unstable. After about 24 hours my iMac has trouble finding the DiskStation. I've gone back to 1500.
     
  8. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #8
    Yes, I had this sort of behaviour also, so I stopped using them. I put it down to having a mixed network. Other forums have mentioned the same.
     
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Jumbo frames doesn't have anything to do with the Internet. Computers are able to access the Internet just fine with jumbo frames enabled.
     
  10. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #10
    Quite right. I don't know where the other poster gets this rubbish from.
     

Share This Page