How to expand Macintosh HD partition without losing data?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rassen, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. rassen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    #1
    Hi there.
    My Macintosh HD Partition is full now.

    So i want to expand size of this partition.
    Can anyone tell me how to do it without lose data?

    Many tks.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    What other partitions do you have on the drive?
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    If its a single partition on the drive then you cannot. If you have bootcamp you can try to shrink that and grow your OSX's partition. You can take a look at iPartition That may be something that would work for you, provided you have multiple partitions on the drive to adjust.
     
  4. rassen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    #4
    Macintosh HD: 124G (almost full)
    Paritition 2: 124G (free 80%)
    Partititon 3: 249G (free 50%)

    so i want Macintosh HD have 180G ( free space can take from Partition 2)

    I already had iPartition, but can use it in OS ? can't resize or do anything.
    and with iPartition, any risk or lose data?
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I'm not sure how ipartition will work with modern computers, back when I had it, I created a bootable DVD and then used it. Perhaps the newer versions use the recovery partition, tbh I'm not sure.

    As with any utility that modifies the hard drive, there is always a risk and you should have a back up of all your data.
     
  6. rassen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    #6
    Does Mac get recovery partition?
    This partition will recover what? whole disk Data?

    I read somewhere that i have to create boot disc and run iPartition before Mac OS start.

    With windows, is easy for me, but this is the first time i have to work with Mac about partition resize.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    You can do this with the OS X included Disk Utility, assuming Macintosh HD is the top (first) partition.

    Open Disk Util and go to the partitions tab. Select the second partition and click the minus at the bottom to remove it. This will wipe the data on partition two only.

    [​IMG]

    Now grab the little diagonal hash marked area I pointed out in my screenshot and drag it down until Macintosh HD is 180GB like you want then apply the change. This will not erase data on Macintosh HD.

    [​IMG]

    No click the plus at the lower left to add a partition two back into the empty space between one and three then apply that change. Done.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Definitely give a shot with this, but I've had inconsistent results, sometimes I could resize and sometimes I couldn't.

    Either way, its still a good idea to back up your data.
     
  9. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #9
    back up ALL of your data to another HDD before fooling around with partitions, then you won't be screaming and ranting if the partition game messes things up.
     
  10. rassen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    #10
    many tks for your help.

    With your tutorial, i can understand that merge 2 partitions become one.
    I have one question: after two these steps , can i recreate partition 2 ?
    i still want have 3 partitions.

    After recreate partition 2, can i name it and mount it just like before?
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Yes.. that very last step I showed (click the plus at the bottom left) will add back a third partition in the empty space in the middle and you can name it whatever you want and it will work just like before.

    I just want to reiterate that any data on partition two will be gone by doing this.

    Like others mentioned, you should backup before doing this just to be safe.
     
  12. rassen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    #12
    I appreciate your help.
    I finished all i need with my partitions without lose data.

    Thanks you so much :apple:
     

Share This Page