How to fast Mac Pro (64 bit)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by abhidip, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. abhidip, Nov 26, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012

    abhidip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #1
    hello everyone ,
    my macpro(64 bit) gets hang when i run video editng software to edit video.
    I know it takes lots of memory.now how to fast my system that it should not get hang:confused:
    Mac Pro 5.1/2.4GHz Quard Core Intel Xeon/1 TB HDD
    no of processor 2
    no of core 8
    ram 32 GB
    grphics ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
    os :MAc OS X lion 10.7.3(11D50d)
    editing soft ware Final Cut Pro 10.0.3(which i am using for video editing)
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    Well first you will have to tell us the detailed specification of the machine and software you are running now. Things like which model of Mac Pro, now much memory and disk space as well as the OS version and software used to do your work.
     
  3. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #3
    Thanks for the extra information.

    Do you have a separate hard drive just for the capture scratch for FCP?

    It is better(well, basically a must) to have your FCP program on your bootup Macintosh HD, and then a separate hard drive that holds your Final Cut Document folder, where the scratchdisks will go.
     
  4. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    What format and codec is the video footage?

    Your hard drives will need to be capable of read speeds in line with your video bitrate. You could get an SSD for your system drive, then another HDD the same as your existing 1TB drive and run them in software raid 0 for speed.

    Would be the best bang for buck upgrade I think. You have plenty of RAM memory and your processors will be fine.
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    How much free space do you have on that drive? If it is almost full, the applications may be trying to manage with smaller caches than ideal.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    Your OS is out of date. I'd upgrade to Mountain Lion ($20, much better than Lion), or at the very least, 10.7.4 (free.)

    They may not make your machine dramatically faster, but it's basic maintenance you need to be doing.

    Also an SSD sounds like a good idea.
     
  7. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    Apple updated FCP X to 10.0.6 that Adds background rendering to the timeline using the GPU. Previously it utilized the GPU for export only. Probably some fixes as well. Try the new update to see if it fixes the problem.
     
  8. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    I'd suggest an SSD for the boot partition/applications, and a separate hard drive for your video/scratch space. That way the system will not hang while FinalCut is slamming the second hard drive with reads/writes. If you have the money, use an SSD for this as well. If not, a 10,000rpm drive would work.
     

Share This Page