How to find GPU temperature

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by minifridge1138, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    I've seen several posters talk about the temperature of their GPU.
    I have iStat and that shows my my processor temp, but is there a way to learn more about what the graphics card is doing?

    I have an ATI, so Zeus won't work.

    Suggestions?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #2
    What version of iStat are you running? Version 3 displays the temperature of each active PCIe slot (I'm assuming this is a sensor on the card and not just the region, but I could be wrong).
     
  3. minifridge1138 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
  4. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #4
    If you press the little "i" in the iStat Pro widget to go to the settings pane, you can press "Display" and then "temps". There's a whole list of temperature monitors here, and make sure they are all selected.
     
  5. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    iSTAT DOES NOT SHOW GPU TEMPERATURE. It shows PCI-area temperature.


    There is no application to show GPU temperature on Mac except Zeus, and that only supports Nvidia.
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Is that so?

    I just checked iStat Menues and oddly enough I've got a temperature for my PCIe slot two (GT120), which wasn't there when the GT120 wasn't installed.
    There is no temperature indication for the ATI card, though.

    I recall that the PCIe section doesn't have its own temperature sensor.
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    Nothing is displayed regarding PCI-E or GPU temps for my Apple HD4870.

    Can't remember what happened with the GT120..
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  9. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #9
    I have a single 5770 GPU in my MP and istat shows NO temperature for any PCIE slot.

    JohnG
     
  10. diazj3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #10
    how can I use Zeus to see the GPU temp? Does it work with the stock GT120?
     
  11. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #11
    iStat does show GPU temperatures... on my MacBook Pro.
     
  12. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #12
    That's strange, I wonder why it shows it for the 5870 I have installed but not in the 5770. I also thought it may be an area temperature sensor, but can't figure out why iStat only picks up occupied PCIe slots...and only with some GPUs it would seem.
     

Share This Page