how to find out if i have sam or lg display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wrxsti88, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. wrxsti88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #1
    Hi there new member here, I have searched how to check if I have a sam or lg screen for my haswell macpro? :confused:

    I have searched and tried this command in my terminal window and nothing happens, no code comes up, thanks!

    ioreg -lw0 | grep \"EDID\" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6
     
  2. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
  3. wrxsti88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
  4. gothamm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #4
    that code only works if you have a dedicated gpu
     
  5. wrxsti88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #5
    oic is there another way that i can check? thanks
     
  6. wrxsti88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #6
    i heard all the 13 inch haswells are lg panels:confused:
     
  7. pat.micunnis, Oct 31, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013

    pat.micunnis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #7
    Go to Display Preferences, Click on Color .. then on Color LCD profile, click Open Profile. Scroll to the bottom.

    From what I understand, Samsung is based on Manufacturer ? For my 15" 2.6/16/1TB/750M dGPU: it's a Samsung: manufacturer = 610 .. model = A022

    For my 15" 2.3/16/1TB/750M dGPU, manufacturer = 610, model = A019
     
  8. tmiw macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    There's a possibility that A018 panels (if you go to ColorSync and pull up the manufacturer info) are Samsung, but we need more people taking photos of their subpixels to know for sure.
     
  9. wrxsti88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #9
    mine says

    manufacturer 00000610
    model 0000A018
    manufacture date ccd71000

    thanks again for everyones help
     
  10. wrxsti88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
  11. tmiw macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    I just ordered some extension tubes for my DSLR. Supposedly they're coming tomorrow so hopefully I'll be able to get decent shots of the subpixels of my A018 screen. :cool:
     
  12. purplekush604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    #12
    i have a 13' a018, 0610, im choked i paid $2000 and they gave me a panel with problems???
     
  13. Jeanloup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #13
    Welcome at Apple post Steve Jobs. "We are making faulty products and we don't care cause you're buying them anyway :)"
     
  14. joeperry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #14
    I just got a base 15" and I have an A022 display - no yellow tint that I could see
     
  15. stract macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    #15
    no. the LG panels are the problem. someone above posted that 610=samsung.
     
  16. aiyaaabatt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #16
    Well, my A018 13'' haswell HAD image retention. So.. yea.
     
  17. fskywalker macrumors 65816

    fskywalker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #17
    So did you did your tests? Is the A018 confirmed to be a Samsung?
     
  18. tmiw macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    I could make out the subpixels but not their shape, so I'd need access to a microscope to know for sure. :(
     

Share This Page