How to firmware upgrade with non-metal gpu to Mojave

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by t8er8, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    alright I’ll make this quick because I know that there’s an easy answer for it, but I just can find it.

    I’m trying to update to mojave and since I’m on .0085, it requires a firmware upgrade, I know that to firmware upgrade you need a flashed gpu, the only working flashed gpu I have is a Radeon HD 2600XT from my old Mac Pro 3,1. When I put that into my Mac and boot up, the mojave installer says I need a metal capable gpu to upgrade.

    I’m aware there’s a bypass for this situation as people have been doing it with their GT120’s but I can’t seem to find it, if I could get some quick help here it would be great.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    Edit: I do have an RX560 that I’ll be using to do the rest of the updating but since it’s not EFI flashed I needed to use the flashed 2600.

    Thanks
     
  2. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #2
    Couldn't you transfer the updated firmware into the High Sierra installer? Then update the firmware and then you should be ready to install Mojave. :)
     
  3. t8er8 thread starter macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #3
    That’s a thought, but I’m not sure how I would go about getting the firmware upgrade from the mojave installer and putting it into a high Sierra installer, I’m on 10.13.6 as well without having updated my firmware
     
  4. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    Oh, you know what. Just download the High Sierra full installer again. It has the updated firmware.
     
  5. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    With your RX560 (only) installed, run the Mojave installer. At the step where it tells you how to do the firmware upgrade and then shuts down, take out the 560 and install the 2600XT. Then hold down the power button until you hear the beep per the instructions.

    Reboot back into High Sierra so you can verify the firmware version is at 0089 in System Profiler. Shut down once again, take out the 2600XT and put back the RX 560 and relaunch the Mojave installer.

    It's really dumb that Apple still doesn't have a better solution for this.

    Edit: Or you can do what MisterAndrew said. You have to download the full installer from the Mac App Store, not the update or Combo Update.
     
  6. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #6
    That's a great idea!
     
  7. t8er8 thread starter macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    Thanks for this but I think mister Andrews method could work better because high Sierra doesn’t have a metal capable gpu blockade
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    I’ll give it a shot first though
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    That worked! that for the help guys!
     
  8. mattspace macrumors 6502a

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #8

    Just to clarify... You can't shortcut this by having both a gt120 and an rx580 installed at the same time, with one monitor connected to each or swapping the monitors between them at the appropriate times? - the physical presence of each card in the system blocks the installer at the critical time, rather than it being a case of just trying to get the installer's video output via the no longer supported / not yet supported cards?
     
  9. bookemdano, Aug 10, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018

    bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #9
    I believe the Mojave installer checks and makes certain that all installed GPUs are Metal-capable before it will proceed with any step of the installation, so that's why you can't have both cards installed. I will say though that I haven't tested that scenario myself.

    And someone (I think tsialex h9826790 :)) said that you don't even need to have a monitor connected to your EFI GPU for the firmware update to succeed. It just needs to be installed in the chassis.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    I did that. You can do the firmware flashing with GT120 + RX580 installed but no monitor connected to the GT120.

    And correct, 10.14 installer won't run with both GT120 and RX580 installed, have to take out the GT120 to let it run properly.
     
  11. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #11
    Just read this page: https://support.apple.com/macos/mojave

    What is strange is that this suggests just an RX560 or RX580 are OK (I have the RX580 Pulse only installed and am on High Sierra).

    However my firmware from the original release of High Sierra is MP51.0084.B00 so from what you describe here unless Apple change something prior to the full release I'm going to need to change GPU before I can install Mojave (thankfully I didn't sell the flashed R9 280X).
     
  12. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #12
    Exactly. It is really surprising to me that Apple would issue such poorly-thought-through guidance (which was released alongside developer beta 2) and that we're now up to beta 6 with absolutely zero change or clarification.
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    This is exactly why I wrote the bug report.

    If we 100% follow the Apple suggested way to update our cMP, we should be running 10.13.6 with 0084.B00 now and unable to upgrade to 10.14 even with the Apple recommended RX580 installed.
     

Share This Page