How to fix all privileges once and for all?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Phrasikleia, Mar 1, 2010.

1. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

I've been plagued by privileges demons ever since starting over in a new user account. I'm the only user of this MacBook Pro (2008 Penryn, running 10.5.8), and I want all-access privileges all the time. How do I go about making that be the case?

Thanks.

2. dcubed20 macrumors member

You don't, the end. User permissions are set up the way they are for a reason.

3. belvdr macrumors 603

You start signing in as root, but that's a very very bad idea. I'm an experienced Unix/Linux administrator and I don't even do that.

4. Phrasikleia thread starter macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

Hmm. So I guess I need to fix my problems some other way. Thanks for the replies.

5. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

lucifiel

depends on what your problem is doesn't it?

If you want/need the higher level of access, then login as root all the time, but it isn't recommended by anyone.

if you post your problem, we can try to help you here.

6. Phrasikleia thread starter macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

Well, I started a new user account and am having problems installing certain software in it. My Canon software (DPP and EOS Utility) for my cameras and my Palm Desktop software for syncing my old Tungsten T will not install properly. The Canon software returns "error = 6", and the Palm install just fails. These things worked fine in my previous user account.

7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

You can check the Console logs right after the failure to see if there are any more detailed messages there.

8. Phrasikleia thread starter macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

Does this tell you anything?

(click to enlarge)

[​IMG]

9. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt