How to fix CA in Aperture 3?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by sebascrub, Jan 23, 2011.

1. sebascrub macrumors member

I took this photo of my cat the other day and I really like it, save for the purple on her whiskers. This is what they call chromatic aberration, right? Is there any way to fix it in Aperture 3? I've been playing around with it for a bit, but can't seem to find the right workflow. The biggest problem seems to be that the whiskers are so thin and I can't really apply brushes to them effectively. I'm pretty new to Aperture, so I'm probably missing something really obvious. :eek:

[​IMG]
    DSC_0243 by sebascrub, on Flickr

2. emorydunn macrumors 6502

emorydunn

There is an option to remove chromatic aberration in Aperture, you need to find it in the list with all the other adjustments you can make. You'll have to fiddle around with the various settings but you should be able to remove the colour.

3. jabbott, Jan 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011

jabbott macrumors 6502

Aperture only removes red/cyan and blue/yellow chromatic aberation. Your picture appears to have purple/green chromatic aberration which is either lateral chromatic aberration or spherical aberration (see "The Seven Deadly Aberrations" for more info). Your best bet there is to convert the image to black and white, and optionally apply a tint to it. If you find that many of your images have this aberration, you will want to consider a different lens.

If you do want to try the chromatic aberration cleanup settings in Aperture, start by double-clicking on the photo, go to the Adjustments tab in the upper left, and then click on the "Adjustments" drop down right under the histogram. From there, select "Chromatic Aberration" and you will now find adjustment sliders below to correct CA.