Carrier How to flash a Verizon ESN on Sprint iPhone 4s?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by maygit, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. maygit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #1
    I have a 64gb Sprint iPhone 4s and I'm looking to switch to Verizon. My girlfriend gave me her broken, but usable, 16gb Verizon iPhone 4 now that she upgraded to the 5. What I am looking to do is to take the ESN (and/or whatever other IDs i may need) off her iPhone 4 and put it on mine so I can activate my phone on Verizon.

    What software/tools can do this for me? Is there a tutorial on how to do this (not that I'm incapable, but tutorials save time and reduce the likelihood of errors)?
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    Don't think there's any way to use a sprint iPhone on Verizon. Sprint can unlock it, but only for international use. I heard that using a sim interposer is the only other option (not sure about that though)
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Verizon will not allow a non-Verizon iPhone to be added to their network.

    A simple Google search will give you the details.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You cannot.
    Metropcs might allow it on their network. Verizon will not.
     
  5. maygit, Oct 22, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2013

    maygit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #5
    There are a lot of places online that factory unlock iphones, but that only opens up the GSM side for international use.

    Thanks, I've been doing google searching for a few days and what I've come up with is that the only difference between a sprint phone and verizon phone is purely software(maybe firmware) based. All the hardware is the exact same.

    Verizon will not allow a phone to be activated on their network IF THE ESN IS NOT IN THEIR DATABASE. What I am looking to do is take a current Verizon ESN (and maybe install a patch) and put it on a Sprint phone, in theory now making it have a valid Verizon phone. I've read quite a few forums about people doing this between various carriers, but no one posts a tutorial or software used because of the heavily debated legality of the subject. I'm hoping someone here with knowledge on the subject can chime in or send me a PM on what can be done.

    CDMA workshop looks like a potential tool, but I just found it a few seconds ago so I'll have to read into it.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    You cannot do what you're talking about. Its not possible and cannot be done. What you hear on the internet is unlocking iphones for gsm carriers but CDMA networks are very different and more complicated. They wont allow any phone on their networks database to be used and activated.
    You cant take one ESN from a Verizon iphone 4 and then switch/change the ESN to a sprint iphone 4S and then have it work on Verizon.
    It's not something that can be swapped/changed/hacked.
    Simple solution sell whatever you have as is and buy one that works for Verizon this time.
     
  7. maygit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #7
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    What you're trying to do is swap ESN numbers from one locked carriers iphone to another totally differentcariers and different model iphone too.:D
    Nothing near to what is posted on that link.
    This is to flash a locked cdma iphone to prepaid Verizon service.
    Big difference, you're not even using prepaid are you?
    Go for it then, you can do it:D
     
  9. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    You flash it w/ magic and unicorns. NOTE: Unicorns CANNOT be exchange for horses and zebras. :p



    Not possible TS.
     
  10. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    You CAN flash ESN's it requires a jailbreak but not the way you want too.
     
  11. maygit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #11
    Please expand...

    Doesn't matter how it gets done, as long as the end result is that I have my sprint iphone working on verizon for significantly less (prefer free) than what it would cost to buy a 64 gb 4s veriphone out right (not looking to sign a contract).
     
  12. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #12
    You are so desperate to do this that you just ignore what everyone tells you. If you can't take 'no' for an answer then you are not getting any other help.
     
  13. MewTech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #13
    If everyone took no for an answer, we wouldn't have anything we do today.

    I've read a few forums about flashing ESNs between Sprint and Verizon. Mostly on iPhone 4s. I'd find the link for you, but it was so long ago that I have no clue what it would be.

    Good luck OP, and don't listen to all these snobby forum people.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Sometimes you have to be a realist and recognize that what you seek cannot be done.
    Instead of wasting valuable time on keep hoping for a solution that doesn't exist you cut your losses and purchase a device that you can actually use.
    But never mind, don't believe anyone or take no for an answer.
    Keep wasting your time.:rolleyes:
     
  15. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #15
    Right. I've got nothing to say then.
     
  16. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #16
    Have you thought about selling it and using the money to buy a Verizon version of the same phone? I bet you would break even, and if you really looked around I wouldn't be surprised if you could make a few dollars profit. Either that or try to find someone with the same phone as you but on Verizon and wanting to switch to Sprint and trade with them, you could try posting an ad on craigslist.
     
  17. tammit1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #17
    Hmmmm...

    I changed mine. maygit, PM me, I'll help you. Just because the information is not posted in an easy tutorial, does not mean it can't be done... if you're tech savvy :)
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  19. cbradterry80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    #19
    iPhone 4s Sprint

    I have a Sprint iPhone 4s that I would like to use on PagePlus, can I do this?
     
  20. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #20
    You can't.
     
  21. JPNFRK7 macrumors 6502

    JPNFRK7

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Didn't think I needed a separate thread for this:

    I have an iPhone 5 Verizon (Global). Does this mean that my iPhone is unlocked on the GSM side of the phone? How does the "Global" part work?
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Yes it will work with any gsm carrier in the world.
    Even USA carriers that are gsm.
    Not with any other CDMA carriers besides Verizon.
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #23
    The Verizon iPhone 5 series (5/5S/5C) are sold completely unlocked (domestic/international) because the FCC made that a condition for Verizon to use the frequency band it uses for LTE.
     
  24. JPNFRK7 macrumors 6502

    JPNFRK7

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #24
    Sweet Thanks guys, I had read similar things but was never sure. Now I can use prepaid SIM cards in Europe.
     
  25. TeslaCoiled macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    #25
    Anyone else stumble thru the dark & find said switch? =)

    :apple: Anyone else stumble thru the dark & find said switch? =)
    I've got a compadre in the same boat & position... =)

     

Share This Page