How to flash GTX 970 with EFI BIOS?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zaithe, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. Zaithe macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #1
    I want to flash my card manually so i don't have to send it in to MACVIDCARDS.COM. Anybody familiar with the process able to guide me in the right direction?
     
  2. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #2
    1) Sell GTX970
    2) Buy GTX680
    3) Flash GTX680 using instructions on this forum
     
  3. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Either pay for it, or make the EFI ROM by yourself. AFAIK, there is no 3rd option apart from stealing.
     
  5. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #5
    Thank you for your info. How easy is it to make your own rom? As easy as grabbing a 680 rom and modifying the configuration?
     
  6. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    Really not easy. :cool: Reengineering skills necessary.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    I have absolutely no idea how can produce a Mac EFI ROM for Nvidia card. If you can figure that out, and willing to teach us for free, please remember to come back.
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    You just open up the code and type in the code to run the 970. No big deal.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Yes, the action is easy, but I just don't know what I should type in. It seems a bit too hard for me to get every single bit right just by luck. :p
     
  11. frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #11
    I bought two GTX680s, flashed both, kept one, sold the other.

    It sold for ~double the unflashed cost so I effectively got mine for free :D </smug>
     
  12. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #12
    With a GTX 970 will the card be handicapped in OSX in regards to performance with the web driver installed? I could deal with no bootscreen if i had to. If so i guess i will have to take it in to get flashed or else i run the risk of bricking it. I'm a programmer but not a ROM engineer. Seems like i shouldn't even waste my time trying from what your saying. Does anybody own a flashed 970 which they could download the rom using software like nvflash?
     
  13. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #13
    Hi. Welcome to MR site and the solution to your problem..sell your current Mac Pro and run for your life.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    AFAIK, in OSX, there is no performance difference between flashed or non flashed card once the web driver installed.
     
  15. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #15
    I would if i could but i work from home and the industry i work in require me to use apple products. I got a good setup though. mid 2012 12 core 3.46ghz mac with 64GB 1333mhz ECC Registerd memory. 1TB Sata3 Raid, 1TB M.2 Raid and a 6TB Raid 1. Should outperform the top grade 2013 model in most areas.

    Quoted from the macvideocards website:http://www.macvidcards.com/what-are-the-benefits-of-buying-a-flashed-card.html
    1. When installed in a Mac Pro a stock PC GPU will only be able to utilize the outdated PCIe 1.0 format. A card flashed with a Mac BIOS will be able to work at PCIe 2.0 speeds, supporting twice the data rate.
    But maybe they are saying that would be the case if you didn't install the web driver?
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    That's only true in Windows now, but not with the current web driver in OSX.
     
  17. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #17
    So your saying if i use bootcamp and install the latest driver for the card in windows it won't properly utilize it?
     
  18. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #18
    Yep.

    PCIe 2 - OSX
    PCIe 1 - Bootcamp/Windows

    If boot screens and rev 2 speeds in win are important to you, only option is to send it in for flashing. If you think you can survive without seeing a silly boot screen (Apple logo, or option/boot menu), please remember that nvidia web driver is locked to OS build, so until you see a driver update hold off on updating OSX. So many threads on this here, please read around and search...education is power.
     
  19. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #19
    Looks like i'm going to have to do it then i guess. I also want the rig to be gaming ready on windows. What if i use a VM and interface it directly with my video card within OSX?
     
  20. frou, Jul 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2016

    frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #20
    That could be more of a perf hit than just using it natively with PCIe 1

    The thing to remember about graphics cards and PCIe is that the cards have a good amount of onboard RAM that essentially acts as a fast cache. They're not going over the PCIe bus for everything they do, and so there being a bit less bandwidth isn't necessarily a showstopper.

    Of course, as an enthusiast, I understand the appeal of having hardware firing on all cylinders.
     
  21. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #21
    idk the games i play currently max out this card on a windows pc so I think i'll just bite the bullet and pay to have it flashed. Maybe after it's flashed i'll download the rom and peak inside. Thank you everyone for your help. Feel free to chime in if you have anymore input.
     
  22. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #22
    The performance of the GTX970 is little different to the GTX680. Save your money sell the GTX970 buy a GTX680 & flash it yourself
     
  23. Zaithe thread starter macrumors member

    Zaithe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    #23
    I would rather sell it and get a titan than take a step back. I will probably flash this and later buy a titan z when they get a little older and give this card to my wife.
     

Share This Page