How to force Wi-Fi to stay on 5ghz?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by KoolAid-Drink, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. KoolAid-Drink macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #1
    My WiFi on Yosemite keeps switching back and forth between 2.4ghz and 5ghz. We're running an Airport Extreme (latest model). Is there a way I can force my laptop's Wi-Fi network to stick to only 5ghz?

    Hope this makes sense!
     
  2. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #2
    Make a wifi name for the 5GHz and connect to it.

    [​IMG]

    This allows for greater control.
     
  3. KoolAid-Drink thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #3
    The problem is that I live in a house with 5 other people, and our WiFi networks has been set to have the same name for both the 5ghz and 2.4ghz networks, so it would be a hassle changing it and explaining it to the roommates.

    Is there a way I can just have my laptop itself stay on 5ghz?
     
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Is it a small house with limited walls and NO metal/concrete construction? 5GHz has a very limited range and doesn't pass through objects (walls) well, compared to 2.4GHz.
     
  5. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #5
    Not that I know of. It's going to be easier to change the 5Ghz network name to something unique and set your preferred network order.
     
  6. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #6
    5ghz is faster but has a shorter range than 2.4 unfortunately.
     
  7. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    You can call the 5ghz network anything you want. It does not have to be called "my network 5ghz"
     
  8. dmrowley macrumors 6502

    dmrowley

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Dortches, NC
    #8
    Remove the 2.4GHz network from your preferred networks. Problem solved.
     
  9. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #9
    Take a look at the channel the airport is using. Maybe it is switching because of the channel you are using. You could use a program called iStubler (http://www.istumbler.net/) which will show you what channels are being used in your area.
     

Share This Page