How to fresh install Leopard on my MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by iphonesrq, May 27, 2009.

  1. iphonesrq macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #1
    I bought a new uni, & I' gave my dad my old MB....I want to do a fresh install of Leopard so that it is like new. I put the disc in ran the install but it still has my desktop pic, files, etc. It never gave me an options as for installing? How do I install it to make it just like new?

    -MB 2.4ghz
    -new Leopard disc 10.5.6
    -leopard 10.5.6 is installed on it now
     
  2. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #2
    1. Stick in the Leapord Disc
    2. Go to Utilities Menu, then Disk Utility.
    3. Select your HD, then select the Erase Tab, then hit Initialize/Delete/Erase? [This will delete everything on your HD]
    4. Once done, Quit. Then it will bring you back to the installer window, continue like normal, through the installer.
     
  3. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #3
    1. Which HD do I erase the one that starts w/ 111.8GB or the Macintosh HD?

    2. I'm in the erase tab & everything is greyed out?

    3. Step 3 in picture says "specify format...." this is greyed out too?


    thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #4
    Select Macintosh HD. Its the drive with the OS on it, which is what you want to restore/delete.

    Then just use the default drive format, and hit erase.


    I forgot to mention that you need to be booted off the Install Disc, that might be why it was grayed out. The Disk Utility app, will not let you delete the OS from which it is running. FYI.
     
  5. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #5
    the "erase" is greyed out...only the "erase free space" is available
     
  6. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
  7. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #7

    I know I' pretty slow :) what does this mean? "Then just use the default drive format, and hit erase"

    and

    booted off the Install Disc,
     
  8. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
  9. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #9
    i think the format is Mac OS Extended, or HFS+?. It should say on the bottom of the disk utility window, when you select the drive, what format it is already.
     

Share This Page