How to get a MB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Porifera, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. Porifera macrumors newbie

    Porifera

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #1
    Hi, I'm a 22 year old girl, Vet student here in Chile, and this is my problem:
    For 4 years I've had this VERY CRAPPY pentium 3, 256MHz RAM, 9 GB HD PC, and as you can imagine it really doesn't work... it takes forever to open apps, I constantly lose papersheets and school things, and I have to reinstall windows like every month... REALLY NICE :mad:

    So, after 2 years working to pay my school I finally got my parents to pay it for me, so I thought... I'm so saving money for a MB!... only thing is, I was making US$200 and the white MB here is US$2,000!!! Whatever... I could wait 10 months... but because of all the work, my grades were really bad, so my parents mede me quit :( And I had no money left because I spent it on my iPod with video (US$400 the 30G... crazy)

    The thing is, I would really apreciate it if any of you knew a way to win a MB or where to get one real cheap...
    Oh.. and I'm aiming for a MB and not a Mac Mini because I need to be able to take it to school, to my parents house (other city), my boyfriend's... and well, pretty much everywhere.

    I know this is crazy... but.. it's really worth the try.. I mean.. there's nothing to lose right? Besides, I'm really desperate and this is the only thing I could come up with.

    Thanks for reading.. I tend to get carried away..

    Coni

    P.S: The iPhone looks so cool!!! can't wait till it gets here!!
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Most retailer's offer a hire-purchase method (i.e. pay monthly over a period of time, usually up to a year).

    That way you'll pay £100 a month for 12 months. Most companies charge interest if you purchase this way, so you'll end up paying usually 14% extra than you would if you bought it at the normal price.

    Not sure if Apple themselves offer this.
     
  3. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #3
    perhaps try to get a used iBook on eBay. Even the G3's will run Tiger. The speed won't be great, but the OS will be stable
     
  4. Benedictus-x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    The Port!
    #4
    eh no There is no evidence that leopard will support the PowerPC G3 processor. G4 and up should be fine. 12" iBook G4..Portable AND cheap
     
  5. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #5
    Who's talking about Leopard?
     
  6. stork macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #6
    check out the finance section of apple, go into the apple store on the internet, click on the macbook you want and scroll down, it normally says something like "Found out how to get this for $12.40 per month" or something like that, you will pay more than normally, but the cost will be spread out.
     
  7. Porifera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Porifera

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #7
    Can´t do that.. there's no apple stores here in Chile..
    Thanks for your help though!
     
  8. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #8
    Well you could like other said get an iBook G4 or even a powerBook G4.
     
  9. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #9
    Unfortunately, there is no ONLINE Chile region on apple.com. Not sure if you could use something else...well oh well. If you can, go ahead and use the online apple store and apply for the credit there, you might be able to, but I'm not totally sure.
     
  10. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #10
    It sounds like you have a really tight budget. If I were you I'd get a nice titanium powerbook or a 12 inch powerbook from ebay for under $500 if you're lucky and have it sent to chile.

    Also, install linux on your PC, it might not restart as much and don't get bad grades!!!
     
  11. drake macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #11
    I'm sure you can get a very decent PC for way less than any Mac. They toss anything less then the latest technology in the trash around here. What would it cost to get a Pentium 4, 3.2ghz there?
     
  12. Porifera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Porifera

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #12
    You mean a G4? that's cheap... and I think the keyboard is the best ever made... but which OS could it run?? my biggest concern is the iTunes updates, I have an iPod with video and I need to be able to sync it...

    Thank you all for the posts!!! :)

    oh.. and about linux... I've never seen a PC running linux, so I have no idea what it looks like... Is it easy to learn how to use it?
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
  14. Porifera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Porifera

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #14
    mmm... I don't know... obviously cheaper than a Mac, but I've seriously had it with PCs.. Plus, my school has only PCs and we have to use pendrives to get the teachers' classes (there's no internet in classrooms), so everytime I plug the pendrive into my PC (which is actually my iPod) to download the classes, I get virus, and I have the NOD32 installed... it's really annoying.. And my iPod is not working right, I don't know if the virus could have any effect on it but I have to do the center button and menu hold thing at least once a day. It really needs to be restored but I can't backup my music, videos or whatever because I have to use my virus infected PC to do that... So first I need to reinstall windows, which also means a backup of the few things that fit in the 9GB HD...
    There's a lot I need to do, but this semester is almost over and next week I have the final exams so I'm really busy studying...

    Thanks for your post!
     
  15. Porifera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Porifera

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #15
    I'm guessing Tiger would run better than Leopard... but will I be able to update iTunes if I have Tiger?? and if I can't, will I still be able to sync my iPod using older versions of iTunes??
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    Actually, some G4 users claim that Leopard is faster than Tiger on a G4. iTunes should work for some time under Tiger. Not everyone will upgrade right away.
     

Share This Page