How to get all masters out of Aperture...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by btownguy, Oct 9, 2009.

1. btownguy macrumors 6502

I've downloaded the trials of Aperture and Lightroom and have them both installed. I'm playing around with them trying to figure out which one will be best for me. I'm not a pro photographer or anything, but I don't like iPhoto because of the way it deals with events. I like to have hierarchies for my picture folders but apparently iPhoto will only allow you to have one level of events.

So, I understand that Aperture has you choose between the masters being managed in the Aperture library file or have them be referenced on disk. My main concern is that I want to be able to pull all of my master files out of Aperture and preserve my old folder hierarchy structure. Every time I try to export files (even from multiple folders), Aperture exports them all into one huge folder rather than preserving the folder structure. Is there any way to do this?

2. mjones185 macrumors regular

Go to where you have the Aperture file saved, usually photos under your home folder. Right click on the Aperture Library and select something similar to view contents, should be the second or third text down. Finder window will open and expose all your folders holding all your photos.

Sorry not being specific in details, I'm at work and we are forced to use windoze.

Mike

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I recently switched from aperture to lightroom and I needed to get all my masters out of aperture. It was a little time consuming because of a memory leak.

You need to export the masters.

Select the images you want to export, click on file -> Export-> Masters and then be sure to include the IPTCXMP side car

For me, I was only able to select around 200 - 400 images and export them, anything more aperture seemed to crash as it was exporting it. This is the fastest and easiest way to get images out of aperture, imo.