How to get an IDE 3.5 drive into a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fab5freddy, May 9, 2008.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    I just bought a brand new Mac Pro 8-core,
    but have an IDE 3.5 harddrive that i would like
    to stick into one of the SATA bays .......but how ??

    the plugs don't match....., but is there any kind of adaptor
    that would turn an IDE plug into a SATA ??

    thanks!!
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    There are adapters that convert an IDE drive to SATA or a SATA drive to an IDE. Unfortunately none of them will work with the way the hard drive bays are designed in the Mac Pro. Your only option would be to place it in the second optical drive bay.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    There's no physical room for an adaptor in the 3.5" drive bays. Your only recourse internally is to mount it in the spare optical drive bay. Or as posted, much easier just to stick it in a USB or Firewire external case and have done with it.
     
  5. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #5
    Ok, So could i stick the IDE 3.5 drive
    in my Empty Optical Drive Bay ??

    That would awesome if i could,
    because the other 4 bays are already full.
     
  6. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #6
    Yes, indeed.
     
  7. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #8
    Why do you want to put in in your Mac Pro? Just pick up an external IDE drive enclosure that hooks up to your Mac Pro via USB. You can then clone or copy whatever contents you need to a new SATA internal drive.
     
  8. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #9
    well, then i would waste a perfectly good 500 GB Drive....!

    Isn't that a waste ??
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    eh? You buy enclosure, you put IDE drive in enclosure, you attach enclosure to MacPro by USB or Firewire, you use drive. What waste?
     
  10. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #11
    well, i don't want to clutter my desktop...
    i'd like to put it inside of my Mac Pro....

    that's the reason ; - )
     
  11. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #12
    Go for it. I stuck a 5th HDD in my MP's lower optical bay. It was a bitch routing the SATA cable, but since you're gonna use an IDE drive and there's an extra IDE adapter up there, you shouldn't have any problem. You just need a way to mount it in there.
     
  12. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell

Share This Page