How to get carrier profile after switching provider

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by atteligibility, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. atteligibility macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #1
    I switched from ATT to TMO.
    I think I need an update to carrier profile to enable visual voicemail, etc..

    If I go to settings/general about/ carrier shows t-mobile 14.5.4
    I believe 14.5.4 is a att profile, that latest from tmo should be 14.2 I believe?

    visual voicemail not working right now.
     
  2. AlvinNguyen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    I believe if you shut off your phone and turn it back on and wait the carrier update option will pop up. At least that's what happened to me.
     
  3. SAMtheGAM macrumors regular

    SAMtheGAM

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #3
    You have the latest carrier profile for T-Mobile since you are running iOS 7 beta. 14.2 is for iOS 6.

    T-Mobile may have to provision Visual Voicemail on their end for you. Or you can try leaving yourself a voicemail and then check for voicemail.
     
  4. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    There are three ways to get Carrier Settings profiles.

    1) Every time a new version of iOS is released, the latest set of profiles should be included. You don't need to do anything other than keeping iOS updated to use these.

    2) You can get updates "Over The Air" if a newer version is released in between iOS updates. You can usually force the update dialog to appear by going into Settings > General > About.

    3) Syncing with iTunes should also check for new profiles when you sync your iPhone.

    Note that in the last two cases, you're only prompted if there's an update for the carrier that the phone is currently using.
     
  5. atteligibility thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #5
    ah ok that makes sense

    For the record, the visual voicemail problem was because my own phone number in the settings was not updated after my old number got ported from att. Once I updated that settings, visual voicemail started working.
     

Share This Page