How to get FLV to work on iPod

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by evan g, Dec 25, 2008.

1. evan g macrumors regular

Ok so I wanted to download a video (link) and put it on my ipod. I managed to get the .flv, but when i tossed it in iSquint, it said VIDEO_TS can't be converted directly or something like that. I'm relatively new to this, but I would appreciate it if anyone could help me out.

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

You could probably use the newest version of Handbrake (0.9.3) to convert it to iPod format now.

3. DPA macrumors 65816

DPA

Easiest way is to import it into iTunes as a .flv file and create an iPod/iPhone version. You can do this by clicking on advanced>create iPod/iPhone version. Here's a screenshot of how to do this:

Attached Files:

4. G.T. macrumors 6502a

How do you import .flv into itunes. Do you need a plugin, if so where do I get this.

5. l'homme macrumors member

6. DPA macrumors 65816

DPA

Personally, I don't like Perian, use MPEG Streamclip, here, it will convert the flv to mp4 (MPEG-4) which itunes can read, then follow my directions a few posts above to get it on your iPod. If it doesn't sync onto the iPod, make sure you have it selected in the movies box under the video tab of your iPod's "page" that pops up when you sync.

7. G.T. macrumors 6502a

I have perian for quicktime. How do I get it to work for itunes. I remember downloading a quicktime component for .ogg files that allowed itunes to play them because quicktime and itunes use similar coding or something (can't think of proper term).

8. DPA macrumors 65816

DPA

Use MPEG Streamclip, here, to convert it to MPEG-4 (.mp4) and add the .mp4 file to your library. Then follow my instructions to create a iPod/iPhone version.