How to get my iOS4.2 SDK developed code working with iOS3.1.3?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Akshata, Jul 5, 2011.

1. Akshata, Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2011

Akshata macrumors newbie

I am new to iPhone development. I started developing a project using iOS4.2 SDK. It works properly on both an iOS4.2 device and simulator. Later I realized that my app wasn't working on devices with iOS3.1.3. To solve this I updated the "Deployment Target" in my app's configuration file to "3.1.3".

The problem I am having is that I use UITapGestureRecognizer in some of my classes. On compiling my code using iOS 3.1.3 SDK I get the following errors:

error: 'UITapGestureRecognizer' undeclared (first use in this function)
    error: 'tap' undeclared (first use in this function)

From what I have ready, this seems to be because iOS3.1.3 does not support UITapGestureRecognizer, so to run this i made the following changes wherever I use UITapGestureRecognizer:

Code:
     Class mailClass = (NSClassFromString(@"UITapGestureRecognizer"));
       if(mailClass != nil)
       {
         UITapGestureRecognizer *tap = [[UITapGestureRecognizer alloc] initWithTarget:self action:@selector(findOutTheTagmap:)];
         [imageView addGestureRecognizer:tap];
         [tap release];
       }
    I also updated my Target configuration and set the UIKit Framework to "Weak". Additionally I have also made the following changes:
    Base SDK: 3.1.3
    Compiler Version: GCC4.2 (also tried with GCC4.0)
    Mac OS X Deployment Target: Compiler Default (also tried with 10.4 and 10.6)
    iOS Deployment Target: 3.1.3

Yet, when I try compiling my code, I am still shown the same errors. What is surprising is that a few days ago someone was helping me and this worked.

I have tried pretty much everything I have found in forums.

Does anyone have an idea on how I can proceed?

Thanks in advance!

2. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

PhoneyDeveloper