How to get my Leopard to detect my Vista machine

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by unce, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. unce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #1
    Hi, I just installed Vista Ultimate on my PC, and I can't seem to get my macbook pro which is running Leopard to detect my Vista machine. It was fine in XP. I tried right clicking my Harddrives in Vista and sharing them. This usually works in XP but it doenst seem to work for Vista...

    I really suck at vista lol anyone know the solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Probably need some more info on your set-up: how are you connecting? Who's wired, who's wireless? Can you ping the Vista box? etc.
     
  3. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #3
    In vista, turn user account control OFF (horrible useless feature) this is done in the control panel under user accounts,

    next, go into network connections and make sure your network discovery is turned on and whatever else from the list you want turned on. Reboot and this should do it for you.

    Sorry its vague after a year I sold my vista machine and switched to mac. (My mac is still in the mail : / )
     
  4. unce thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #4
    My router is connected to ISP, my Vista is connected to my router, and my Mac is connected through wireless.

    How can I try Pinging my Vista?
     
  5. unce thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006

Share This Page