How to get my macbook pro online in England

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lvanhoff, May 26, 2008.

  1. Lvanhoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #1
    Hi,
    Last year we went to England and had a hard time getting my Powerbook online at our family home who has a wireless network. We had to change some settings or something to get it online. We are facing the same issue now with our new MacBook Pro and I cant remember what settings we adjusted to make it work. Any obvious suggestions to try?
    Thanks in advance,
    Laura
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    How is this relevant to England? It isn't like going to a different country will suddenly prevent your computer from working!

    Does the MacBook Pro actually connect to the router?
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    Might have changed the Location settings in the Network Prefs.

    OP - have a look to see if you saved a different location setting. Try just changing it to Automatic.
     
  5. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    If the wireless card is turned on it should be able to see the network. Just select it from the airport icon in the menu bar at the top of your screen.
     
  6. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #6
    Does your router have MAC address filtering? Password? Can you connect to it with ethernet? What model of router is it? More information required.
     
  7. Lvanhoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #7
    Thank you...problem solved.

    Thanks so much for the help...it was simple after all. I wasn't there but a friend got it it working no problem.

    Thank you!
    Laura
     

Share This Page