How to get past initializing on greenpoison!!!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bella92108, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. bella92108, Feb 3, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011

    bella92108 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #1
    To get past the issue of "Initializing GreenPoison" do this:

    Step 1. On your Mac, go to your “Applications” folder.
    Step 2. Now navigate to the “Utilities” folder.
    Step 3. Launch "Terminal".
    Step 4. Type "sudo nano /etc/hosts" (without quotes) and hit return.
    Step 5. Enter your password
    Step 6. Use the down arrow key to find the “gs.apple.com” entries. Once the cursor is in front, make sure you comment out the line(s) by entering “#” in front of the text.
    Step 7. Save the file by pressing CONTROL+O.
    Step 8. Exit the nano editor by pressing CONTROL+X.

    Now re-follow the steps of running greenpoison and you're golden!
     
  2. shamash macrumors 6502a

    shamash

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Taichung, Taiwan
    #2
    gs.apple.com isn't even listed in that file for me.
     
  3. bella92108 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #3
    hmm, worked for me....
     
  4. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Me either.
     
  5. Norcalchavo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clara, California
    #5
    you have to scroll to the bottom and when done editing the hosts file, press control-o to save the file then press enter on the filename prompt, and control-x to exit the editor.
     
  6. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I understand that. There is no gs.apple.com in my hosts file.
     
  7. bella92108 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #7
    Anytime you do a restore in iTunes it readds the GS line, so there's something wrong in your computer.
     
  8. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #8
    I edited my hosts file (which I've been playing with to get my iPhone to restore and get out of DFU, another nightmare altogether) to comment out the gs.apple.com lines, but I still seem to be having the "initializing" bug.
     
  9. elfxmilhouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast USA
  10. JakkOne macrumors newbie

    JakkOne

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #10
    I don't get step 6, there was already a # at the beginning of the line. What should I do?
     
  11. owine macrumors member

    owine

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #11
    Running Greenpois0n for the second time is what fixes the issue. The comment line has nothing to do with it. After the initializing hang, power down the iphone, power it back up and relaunch GP and follow the process again. It will finish and complete the process.
     
  12. bella92108 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #12
    Anyone who says there's a "#" already, or no GS apple entry, clearly you didn't do a proper fresh install because if you did iTunes automatically adds the line even if it wasn't there, or was there and #'d before. So redo and follow steps.
     
  13. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    I have done 3 restores through iTunes now and there is still no gs.apple.com entry. I'm on a month old SL install that TU was never installed on and I'm using a never jailbroken iPhone 4.

    What could the problem be?
     
  14. Armeniandave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #14
    This worked for me!

    I am digging the new Greenp0ison apple logo!!
     
  15. monksealpup, Feb 4, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011

    monksealpup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    #15
    This is a horrible help thread. People need to be clear with their instructions.

    If people are commenting out the gs.apple.com entry, it just means they aren't forcing a particular IP resolution for gs.apple.com. Therefore, if you don't have it in your hosts file, then it's just as if you had it in there and commented it out.

    If it's not working for you (and your hosts file either doesn't have an entry or it's commented out with #), then there's some other problem (I am trying to track it down).



    Edit: Here's a procedure that worked for me:

    greenpois0n mirrors: http://iphonejailbreaks.org/mirror-download-links-for-greenpois0n-rc5-to-jailbreak-ios-4-2-1/

    Supposedly fixed version: http://46.4.219.216/dl/greenpois0n-osx_rc5_2.zip

    1) Edit /etc/hosts (must be root or use sudo) and ADD the following to the end of the file: 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    2) Save and close the file.
    3) Type (in terminal): dscacheutil -flushcache [this ensures that all aspects of the OS pay attention to your /etc/hosts file changes. Rebooting will also accomplish this step and waste your time.]
    4) In terminal, type: cd <path to greenpois0n>/Contents/MacOS/

    For example, I have mine stored in the /Applications folder with all the rest of OS X's apps. So I would type: cd /Applications/greenpois0n.app/Contents/MacOS/
    If you put it on the desktop, type: cd ~/Desktop/greenpois0n.app/Contents/MacOS/

    5) Type 'ls' and read the stuff that's there. For example, you might have: greenpois0n iBSS.n90ap kernelcache.release.n90
    6) Type 'rm iBSS.n90ap' in terminal. Type 'rm kernelcache.release.n90' in terminal. Remove all files there EXCEPT greenpois0n. You may find the tab key will help you autocomplete names (e.g. type 'rm iBSS<tab>')

    7) Plug in your phone and turn it off. Close iTunes.
    8) With everything except greenpois0n gone, type: sudo ./greenpois0n
    9) greenpois0n launches (the GUI). The terminal window will start spitting stuff out, too. Follow the GUI instructions (press the button...)
    10) For me, it booted to the same "hanging" screen the first time around. I shut down the phone and that caused greenpois0n to crash. I relaunched using step (8) above and redid the process. It worked on the second try. Watch the terminal window because it spits out more data (it looked like the second try hung, too, until the phone dumped me straight to the kernel load screen and the screen was filled with text). Be patient at this point (greenpois0n reports it's done so you can close it).

    You'll want to wait for this step in terminal:

    Checking if kernelcache already exists
    Fetching kernelcache.release.n90...

    A progress bar will appear in greenpois0n. If you're here, you're set.

    11) The first boot process on the phone takes a while. You will see some text, then you will see an animated Apple logo spin around to display the greenpois0n logo. Keep waiting. Sometimes a progress circle will appear superimposed over it. Keep waiting (I waited about 4 minutes). At some point it looks like it reboots itself (respring?). Eventually it dumps you to your iOS home screen.
    12) Get a sandwich.


    Notes: I started with a redsn0w tethered jailbreak experience on iPhone 4 (iOS 4.2.1; iOS 4.1 SHSH blobs already saved), so I did NOT need to restore in iTunes and start fresh. I haven't tested that this works without tethered boot (i.e. the greenpois0n hack works as advertised), but I'll just assume it does at this point (edit: rebooted the device and, sure enough, it's an untethered jailbreak).

    Procedure performed under OS X 10.6.6. Your milage may vary with older OSes (I think dscacheutil was introduced in 10.5?)


    Something to be aware of: When Apple releases a new iOS in the future, you may want to upgrade and lose your jailbreak (i.e. iOS 4.3 or 5.0). If you do that, you MAY need to comment out the changes you made to the /etc/hosts file so the new iOS is authenticated with Apple's servers since cydia's servers might not be updated immediately. To do that, change the following line in /etc/hosts:

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    to

    # 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    Reboot or type: dscacheutil -flushcache
     
  16. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #16
  17. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
  18. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #18
    It does say osx
     
  19. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #19
    Yeah, of course the zip says osx, but I was wondering if there is also a file for windows. Guess this is the wrong place to ask.
     
  20. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #20
    Well you could take the initiative to download the file yourself and look...... I've never seen either team release windows and mac in the same download. The only time that happened was back in the old 1.x jailbreak days when the programs were called iphoneinterface and jailbreak.

    If you read their twitters you'll clearly see this is OS X only.
     
  21. ckurt25 macrumors 6502a

    ckurt25

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #21
    I tried a couple of times this morning and had no luck. I sure miss easy stuff like jailbreakme.

    Maybe I'll give it a couple of days and try again.

    I was somewhat shocked that this came out. I thought the jailbreaker community was just going to wait for 4.3. I wonder if they got their hands on the beta and the exploits they planned on using were gone so they rushed the 4.2.1 jailbreak out, hence the problems. Just a theory.....
     
  22. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #22
    Rebooting my Mac is what worked for me and others.

    Your theory is correct. Apple has already patched this exploit in 4.3. They released it now because it doesn't matter.
     
  23. ckurt25 macrumors 6502a

    ckurt25

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #23
    Figured that was the case. I hadn't done my homework ;)

    I hope the bugs get ironed out soon.
     
  24. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #24
    Well, this is good then. Apple made the decision for them. They would have pissed around and waited until 5.0 to release a JB.
     

Share This Page