How to Get the Best External Resolution?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by gan6660, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. gan6660 macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #1
    I have a bunch of movies on my computer and want to watch them on my iPad, but I also want to connect my iPad to the tv. From which cable will I get the best resoulution? The component av cable, composite or the vga? Also I think 2 of my tvs have vga input but one doesnt, if I went the vga route is there a way to get a vga to composite av cable?
     
  2. G4R2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #2
    The VGA adapter will give you the best resolution (XGA) on your TV. In fact, many early HDTV models were able to display 1080p content that was input through the VGA port.

    Many HDTV's have a VGA port but you can also get a VGA to HDMI adapter.

    However, if you do need an VGA to HDMI adapter you will also have to make sure your TV can support separate audio channels through one of the HDMI ports. HDMI typically transmits both audio and video whereas a computer, or the iPad in this case, will only be transferring video data through the channel requiring your TV to be able to accept audio through a separate input.
     
  3. gan6660 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #3
    Ok great thanks for your help. So a vga to hdmi cable would work with the vga adapter on the ipad?
     
  4. G4R2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #4
    Yes- But if you take that route make sure that your TV can support audio coming in through separate inputs. Not all HDTV's have this feature.
     
  5. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Well no, VGA is analog RGB and HDMI is digital component (can be Digital RGB also). They are in no way compatible. You would need a A/D converter.
     
  6. gan6660 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #6
    Ok, I think Ill stay away from the vga to hdmi and just use the vga. Now I know for certain my one tv has it but I checked my other one and it does have the input but its black and doesnt say vga in. Is it still the same port?
     
  7. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
  8. gan6660 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #9
    Well I decided Im going to get the vga adapter on launch day so I ordered a vga cable, vga to av adapter, vga video cable, and 3.5mm jack to av sound cable. Hope all of this is going to work. In the end I only spent $10!!
     
  9. Ruby110 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #10
    Why wouldn't you use the component outputs? They are usually only second to HDMI for quality input to a HDTV.
     
  10. gan6660 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #11
    Thats what I planned on getting but others said that vga would give the best quality.
     

Share This Page