How to get the Pound Symbol

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dingdongbubble, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. dingdongbubble macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi

    I wanted toknow how I can enter the Great Britain Pounds symbol on Mac OSX which doesnt have it marked on he keyboard?

    thanks
     
  2. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #2
    Set your keyboard to english and press shift + 3

    It works on the US keyboard I have,


    You can change your keyboard language in System Preferances

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #3
    Without having to change anything like keyboard language, Alt+3 works just fine :)


    £
     
  4. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #4
    Not for me it doesnt...

    I get # which is the sign above my US keyboard...
     
  5. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #5
    Maybe its Option+3, Alum BT keyboard has Alt and Option on the same button.

    Just tested on Macbook and it worked (Alt/Option+3)

    What keyboard are you using?
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    When I set my keyboard to US the £ symbol is option+3.

    Simple way to see it to "Show Keyboard viewer" and press the modifier keys and you can see what buttons have what symbol.
     
  7. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Download the CharacterPal widget so you always have access to those troublesome symbols.
     
  8. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #8
    In FireFox I just go to Edit>Special characters
    and in Finder, Edit>Special characters

    I am sure you can set a keyboard shortcut or find out an easier way, but for the number of times you use it, this might be an option.
     
  9. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #9
    Im using a US keyboard changed to UK language on a powerbook G4 12" and no amount of alt + 3, option + 3, fn + alt + 3 etc... will get a £ sign...

    Ill just settle with the way it is!
     
  10. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #10
    That widget doesn't appear to change the given shortcuts fro different inputs, i.e. seems to be solely american.

    I prefer the Keyboard Viewer, which you can either launch or use optionalt widget to launch

    That is because the UK input the £ sign is shift+3 but in the american input it is option+3. Switch it to american and you will see.

    BTW alt==option it is just a different name.
     
  11. dingdongbubble thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
  12. Triharder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #12
    Pound sign on Macbook Pro

    I bought my MBP in Oz and to get the pound sign i need to do Fn Shift 3 ( £ ). Crazy.
     
  13. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #13
    That depends on the keyboard layout your computer is configured to use, not what the keycaps say. Personally, I use a Dvorak layout, but my keycaps still read in QWERTY.
     
  14. hillybillygirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #14
    Getting the Pound Sign on a US Macbook Pro.

    I purchased a Macbook Pro 13" with Retina Display in the US in October 2013. To get the Pound sign, just press 'Option' and '3'. Bingo - problem solved.

    ----------

     

Share This Page