How to get to Columns in Pages '09

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Z400Racer37, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. Z400Racer37 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm having trouble formatting columns and Pages '09. I wrote up a resume, and the references part goes on a little bit too long. I want to make two columns of just that section. What I did was I highlighted just the contacts portion, I hope inspector, went to layout, and put in two columns. Instead of formatting just the highlighted part, however, it formatted the entire document into two columns, and I can't get it to stop doing that. And I doing something wrong?

    Thanks guys
     
  2. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #2
    I've just tried and get the same as you. I would suggest creating a two column table for what you want to do.
     
  3. Z400Racer37 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #3
    thanks for the reply, but theres gotta be some way to do this the right way... i mean, i want to use pages over MS Office but... this program is making it tough... why isnt it just working?!?!

    Does anyone have the answer? it would be appreciated greatly!!

    thanks guys
     
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    Before and after the section you want to change to two columns, insert (from the Insert menu) a Layout break. It won't add anything visually to the document, but any layout changes, like adding columns, will then only affect that region.

    jW
     
  5. Z400Racer37 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #5
    Wow that's really weird… But thanks a lot! It worked like a charm!!!
     

Share This Page